Sheryl B.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 24 of 24
All About Steve
All About Steve (2009)
Actors: Sandra Bullock, Bradley Cooper
Release Year: 2009
Date: 7/4/2010 3:30 ET

Very funny, entertaining movie. If you are in the mood for some light comedy, this movie fits the bill.

Review Date: 7/4/2010
Baby Einstein - Baby MacDonald - A Day on the Farm
Baby Einstein - Baby MacDonald - A Day on the Farm (2004)
Actor: Baby Einstein
Release Year: 2004
Date: 1/10/2010 7:43 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Of all of the baby Einstein series DVDs, my son loved this one the most. It kept him alternating between mesmerized and laughing.

Review Date: 1/10/2010
Bright Star
Bright Star (2010)
Actors: Abbie Cornish, Ben Whishaw
Release Year: 2010
Date: 6/14/2010 1:45 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

I was really looking forward to this movie, and was utterly disappointed. While trailers for the movie and the synosis states that the main characters fall deeply and madly in love, I just didn't see it. In my opinion, this movie made Fanny Brawn look like an impudent teenager, not someone I should have had sympathy for. I also got the feeling from the movie that Fanny was much more in love with John than he was with her, and I don't think that that was the intention. I honestly believe that this movie missed the mark on what could have been a great story.

Review Date: 6/14/2010
Candy
Candy (2007)
Actors: Heath Ledger, Abbie Cornish, Geoffrey Rush
Release Year: 2007
Date: 6/16/2010 11:02 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

The synopsis on the artwork of this movie states it is a love story between a boy, a girl, and a drug, and I don't think I could explain it any better. The acting was superb, and really made this story come to life. What touched me most was how much the main characters, Dan and Candy, loved each other, and at the same time how low they would go to obtain money for heroin. This movie portrays how their addition becomes central to their relationship. Excellent and thought-provoking.

Review Date: 6/16/2010
Capote
Capote (2006)
Actors: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Catherine Keener, Craig Archibald
Release Year: 2006
Date: 7/18/2010 12:22 ET
1 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

Overall I liked this movie, although I lost interest at certain parts, so much so that I paused it and came back later. The biggest hindrance for me was Capote's voice--it was really annoying and grated on me. That may have been how he talked in real life, but it's hard to watch a movie when every time the main character speaks it feels like nails on a chalkboard.

Review Date: 7/18/2010
Dear John
Dear John (2010)
Actors: Channing Tatum, Amanda Seyfried
Release Year: 2010
Date: 7/13/2010 10:42 ET
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

Loved this movie--it really struck a nerve with me about the choices we make in life.

Review Date: 7/13/2010
Defiance
Defiance (2009)
Actors: Daniel Craig, Liev Schreiber
Release Year: 2009
Date: 6/15/2010 8:12 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

I was very impressed with this movie. The acting was superb, and accurately portrayed the struggles and prejudices the Jews faced while hiding in the woods in Russia to escape Nazi persecution. It also portrayed the struggles between the members of the Jewish forest community as well. Fantastic movie--highly recommend.

Review Date: 6/15/2010
The Family Stone (Full Screen Edition)
The Family Stone (Full Screen Edition) (2006)
Actors: Claire Danes, Diane Keaton, Rachel McAdams
Release Year: 2006
Date: 7/12/2010 12:29 ET
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Unimpressed. Had its moments for sure but I felt the ending was improbable.

Review Date: 7/12/2010
For The Bible Tells Me So
For The Bible Tells Me So (2008)
Actors: Gene Robinson, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Imogene Robinson
Release Year: 2008
Date: 10/25/2010 11:47 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

This documentary was, without a doubt, one of the most moving films I've ever watched. I love how the film balanced the personal experiences of 5 devoutly Christian families that have gay family members with commentary from clergy from different religious branches, actual film footage, and scientific studies. I especially liked when the clergy discussed how words and phrases in the Bible need to be taken in the context of the day and time in which they were written.

I really applaud all of the families who opened their hearts and their llives to participate in this film. The real parents of real gay children who discussed their own process of change, from thinking that being gay is a sin to accepting their gay children wholeheartedly was pure, raw, and moving.

This movie will stay with me for a very long time.

Review Date: 10/25/2010
Forgetting Sarah Marshall (Unrated Widescreen Edition)
Forgetting Sarah Marshall (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (2008)
Actors: Jason Segel, Kristen Bell, Mila Kunis
Release Year: 2008
Date: 7/1/2010 7:50 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

This movie was very funny and entertaining. The 2 hours spent watching it just flew by. Watching this movie is a good way to relax and kick back!

Review Date: 7/1/2010
Hachi: A Dog's Tale
Hachi: A Dog's Tale (2010)
Actors: Richard Gere, Joan Allen
Release Year: 2010
Date: 7/30/2010 8:55 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

I cried--it was that good. Rated G, a movie you can watch with the whole family. I highly recommend it!

Review Date: 7/30/2010
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (2010)
Actors: Heath Ledger, Christopher Plummer, Johnny Depp
Release Year: 2010
Date: 8/1/2010 11:37 ET
4 of 12 member(s) found this review helpful.

Hated it. Wish I could get back the 2 hours of my life I spent watching it.

Review Date: 8/1/2010
Inglourious Basterds (Single-Disc Edition)
Inglourious Basterds (Single-Disc Edition) (2009)
Actors: Brad Pitt, Christoph Waltz, Mike Myers
Release Year: 2009
Date: 7/26/2010 10:02 ET
3 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this movie...loved the plot, the sub-plots, and especially loved Brad Pitt's character. Excellent acting. I only have 2 complaints: (1) the subtitles weren't left on the screen long enough--I actually had to keep rewinding and pausing because I couldn't read the whole subtitle in the time it was on the screen, and (2) the subtitles were in yellow print and I found them very hard to read and to distinguish from the background; for instance yellow words on a light wood table are extremely hard to read. I don't mind subtitles in general but between the light font and them going by too rapidly, the constant stopping, rewinding, and pausing broke up the tempo of the movie.

Review Date: 7/26/2010
Intolerable Cruelty (Full Screen Edition)
Intolerable Cruelty (Full Screen Edition) (2004)
Actors: George Clooney, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Billy Bob Thornton
Release Year: 2004
Date: 7/15/2010 11:38 ET

Cute comedy. Definitely had some funny moments, but not something I'll watch over and over.

Review Date: 7/15/2010
The Jacket
The Jacket (2005)
Actors: Adrien Brody, Keira Knightley, Kris Kristofferson
Release Year: 2005
Date: 6/30/2010 8:52 ET
1 of 6 member(s) found this review helpful.

I despised this movie and wish I could get back the 2 hours of my life I spent watching it.

Review Date: 6/30/2010
The King
The King (2006)
Actors: Gael Garcia Bernal, William Hurt, Laura Harring
Release Year: 2006
Date: 6/24/2010 1:41 ET

Gael Garcia Bernal and William Hurt both give stellar acting performances in this drama. I only gave this movie 2 1/2 starts, however, because it *just ended.* In the last scene, I felt I was waiting for the climax of the movie, and all of a sudden the credits rolled. I felt like the ending was missing. I also felt that the last 15 or so minutes of the movie were rushed compared the the rest of the movie, and felt that more time and detail should have been given in the last chapter of the movie.

Review Date: 6/24/2010
The Life of David Gale (Widescreen Edition)
The Life of David Gale (Widescreen Edition) (2003)
Actors: Kevin Spacey, Kate Winslet, Laura Linney
Release Year: 2003
Date: 6/11/2010 8:11 ET
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

I absolutely loved the story line and acting in this movie. Even though I don't necessarily agree with the politics portrayed by the characters, I found this movie to be riveting. Kate Winslet and Kevin Spacey give amazing performances, and I absolutely did not expect the plot twist at the very end. Usually I am checking the time throughout a movie this long (2 hours 11 minutes), but this movie was gripping.

Review Date: 6/11/2010
The Lion King 1 1/2
The Lion King 1 1/2 (2004)
Actors: Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella, Julie Kavner
Release Year: 2004
Date: 1/31/2010 9:16 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

A very funny follow-up to The Lion King. My husband laughed so hard he actually cried!

Review Date: 1/31/2010
Precious: Based on the Novel "Push" by Sapphire
Precious: Based on the Novel "Push" by Sapphire (2010)
Actors: Gabourey Sidibe, Mo'nique
Release Year: 2010
Date: 5/28/2010 2:48 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

The movie deals with tough subject matter, and is a gripping, albeit dark, story. I found the story line and subjects depressing. The acting in this movie is absolutely amazing. Truly. Were it not for the superb, award-winning acting, this movie would be too depressing to watch.

On a personal note, what I found most depressing about this movie is that while the movie is based on a fiction novel, the situations depicted in the movie occur to too many children every day. And that is terribly depressing indeed.

Review Date: 5/28/2010
The Reader
The Reader (2009)
Actors: Kate Winslet, Ralph Fiennes, Matthias Habich
Release Year: 2009
Date: 6/4/2010 12:06 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I read this book prior to watching the movie, and was very impressed with how true to the book this movie is. But I was even more impressed with how the movie added nuance to the book--provoked points that weren't as strongly promulgated in the book, and made me think about points that the book did not.

Kate Winslet and David Kross deliver award-worthy performances in their respective roles. This is one of the most thought-provoking and riveting movies I have ever seen.

Review Date: 6/4/2010
Shutter Island
Shutter Island (2010)
Actors: Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo
Release Year: 2010
Date: 9/15/2010 10:01 ET
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this movie. Very intense, fast-paced, and I absolutely didn't see the plot twist that occurred at the end! One of the best thrillers I've seen in a long time.

Review Date: 9/15/2010
The Tale of Despereaux
The Tale of Despereaux (2009)
Actors: Matthew Broderick, Emma Watson, Dustin Hoffman
Release Year: 2009
Date: 6/7/2010 11:05 ET
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

While I thought this was a cute movie, it really didn't hold my kids' interest. It's honestly the first animated kids movie that did not hold their interest. I felt the plot was a bit too sophisticated and complex for kids, and some parts were too scary for my kids.

Review Date: 6/7/2010
The Visitor
The Visitor (2008)
Actors: Richard Jenkins, Hazz Sleiman, Hiam Abbas
Release Year: 2008
Date: 3/3/2011 10:05 ET
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this movie, for several reasons. I loved seeing Walter, the main character, transform from being a self-absorbed person to one who goes out of his way to help people he barely knows. I loved the personality of the other main male character and how despite being so different, they were able to get along so well and come to care about each other so much in such a short amount of time. I loved the mother of that character as well, and the nuances of her pensonality portrayed by the acress.

In addition, this movie really gave me something to think about as far as the immigration debate. Highly recommended, will leave you wanting more.

Review Date: 3/3/2011
Walk the Line (Full Screen Edition)
Walk the Line (Full Screen Edition) (2006)
Actors: Joaquin Phoenix, Reese Witherspoon, Ginnifer Goodwin
Release Year: 2006
Date: 7/3/2010 11:06 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this movie. The biography of Johnny Cash, it plays out like a drama, and had me captivated.

Review Date: 7/3/2010
1 to 24 of 24