Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Fungus the Bogeyman
Fungus the Bogeyman (2007) Unrated
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Samuel K. (Solvanda) - 10/22/2018 4:17 PM
"Oh, Doc Martin Clunes, what have you done? I remember as a child seeing your very first dignified acting role in the most excellent Doctor Who episode: Snakedance. And indeed it launched your career. And now This! What on earth be this! (Strangely enough, a childhood friend I grew up with resembles an identical twin of Mr. Clunes. It's always an odd experience for me watching anything with Martin in it.) Was also surprised to see Fay Ripley playing the house wife here (we've recently been enjoying her role as Detective Inspector Martha Bellamy in the British series 'Suspects'.)

Proper preparation was ensured for this title by brewing a couple cups of decaf Peet's Major Dickason's Blend out of the Ninja coffee bar, heavy cream added in. This was paired with some homemade keto chocolates sweetened with xylitol, erythritol, stevia, and bolstered with coconut butter, coconut oil, cacao butter which provided a nice chocolate twist on the bulletproof coffee formula.

I was a smidge apprehensive about viewing this, as a friend was over yesterday. She happened to see the title sitting out and observed: “Oh yeah, I remember seeing that years ago. It was just alright.” Upon pushing 'Play' on the remote, my feline family member meandered off for forty winks in her basket. The forebodings hung, precognitive in the atmosphere.

Fourteen minutes in the terror hit: “How's it hangin' Bogey boy! Bogey boy!” the refrain blaring like some sort of 80's rockabilly. Good lord, this wasn't about to transform into a deranged toddler's musical, was it? (Incidentally, Paul McCartney's “Bogey Music” was inspired by this tale.) Thankfully, this proved to be the only bit of cacophony marring the progression of events. Worry not!

This production is a combination of live action footage and CGI fantasy characters, which are well realized. Not sure there is much of an actual plot going on here. Most of the subject of this tale appears to be the existential crisis of the family father Fungus (which I suspect is a parodying of more heavy-hand English fiction), whose life consists of being disgusting and frightening humans. Daily duties include waking sleeping babies, scaring vicars in cemeteries, making things go bump in the night. Fungus' son Mould is having his rebellious phase, finding he prefers things cleaner than they should be, culturally speaking. Of course, eventually the Humans and Bogeys end up having an incursion with each other (the secret purpose of this I presuppose to present onscreen the cesspit-smeared visages of human children, which is sure to delight any parent, much like the fleeing triple-breasted Bogey females.)

Was astonished to see that this tale was based on a 41 year old children's book by Raymond Briggs, which is more like a comic strip encyclopedia on Bogeymen life, featuring such gems as:

Trousers which have been marinading overnight. “Mmmm! These really stink!”

“Ah! Nice cold filthy water! Good head of scum on it this morning.”

On the bathroom shelf there's “FemStench” perfume (real Eau de Toilette), "Pepsomuck" and "Eau de Colon".

Boils...dung...muck...all things revolting, slimy, putrid, and lavatorial. A bed time tale to make children gasp, fathers smile, and mothers vomit.

I'd previously become acquainted with Raymond Briggs' work from the animated film entitled “When the Wind Blows” which is also based on another children's book, albeit, a harrowing one! (Nothing like the impact of bureaucracy on the innocent in regards to nuclear annihilation as subject matter to acquaint younglings with the adult world.) “When the Wind Blows” is actually one of my all time favorite animated titles. I was pleasantly startled a while back to see it has been released on blu-ray. Evidently, there was also a prequel to “When the Wind Blows” called “Gentleman Jim” made in 1967, which appears to be completely absent from any sort of official media release, even Youtube. Whilst researching Fungus the Bogeyman, I did happen to come across several other Briggs titles to add to my wish list on site, much to my delight.

A new 3 episode adaptation of Fungus the Bogeyman was aired recently in 2015 on ITV in Britain. Appears to only be available so far in Region 2 dvd. It stars Timothy Spall and Victoria Wood, who I was rather saddened to see passed away a few months later from cancer, which she'd kept hidden from the limelight. I've quite enjoyed the many shows she did with main co-star Julie Walters throughout the decades, highlighting her comedic songwriting skills. One of my all time favorite British comedies was written and starred in by Victoria as well: “Dinnerladies”. A most unique soul was Victoria, and I'm most thankful I happened by chance one day to come across her work."


The Beverly Hillbillies Collection
The Beverly Hillbillies Collection (2005) Unrated
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Janet R. (jiannette) - 10/22/2018 10:42 AM
"Classic show and great episodes on this collection!"


EIGHTH GRADE
EIGHTH GRADE (2018) R
Actor: Josh Hamilton
Release Year: 2018

Review by: Karen D. - 10/21/2018 6:04 PM
"Let me start off by saying this movie was 1 hour and 34 minutes to long it was very slow and drawn out the girl is an obnoxious teenager who has a major attitude problem and treats her dad with no respect she snaps at him and treats him like dirt and he takes it without once saying something to her the main character is so unrealistic she wants to be popular and try’s to gain attention with her viral videos that no one watches she wants her peers to like her so she lies and says she’s romanticly active and yet she is not just to be liked by a young boy in her class she has a crush on she meets up with a few high school kids as she’s getting ready to move up from middle school who she try’s to get to like her but one boy one wants to take advantage of her but at least she’s smart enough not to this movie is so slow and a lot of dark scenes throughout the movie it’s definitely a movie I won’t recommend to anyone save your self a credit and rent through the library or wait for it to hit the local movie networks renter beware"


Free Willy: Escape from Pirate's Cove
Free Willy: Escape from Pirate's Cove (2010) PG
Director: Will Geiger
Actors: Bindi Irwin, Beau Bridges, Mike Falkow
Release Year: 2010

Review by: Natalie D. (natd) - 10/21/2018 5:16 PM
"A delightful family movie"


Detachment
Detachment (2012)
Director: Tony Kaye
Actors: Adrien Brody, Marcia Gay Harden, Christina Hendricks
Release Year: 2012

Review by: Leah G. (Leahbelle) - 10/21/2018 4:59 PM
"This is an incredibly well acted movie with great depths of emotion, albeit a little depressing, and not without some very uplifting occasions. Unfortunately true to life and well worth watching."


Live in Manila [Blu-ray]
Live in Manila [Blu-ray] (2016) NR
Director: na
Actor: Journey
Release Year: 2016

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/21/2018 2:23 AM
"I watched a Netflix documentary on the new replacement for Steve Perry and I thought he was great and had lots of similarities. I even planned to see the new Journey in concert and I was really looking forward to watching this concert. Bottom line, as pointed out by one of my family viewers was that you cannot understand the words being said by Arnel Pineda. Very true and really burst my excitement bubble of the anticipation of watching this. You could understand the words later on a few songs but there was alot of muffled words. If you are a journey fan, then this is a MUST watch movie BUT I am not adding it to my collection like I planned. The reviews on Amazon are inflated and when I looked at the Swap ones, they were way lower."


Journey: Live In Manila
Journey: Live In Manila (0)
Actors: Neal Schon, Ross Valory, Jonathan Cain

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/21/2018 2:23 AM
"I watched a Netflix documentary on the new replacement for Steve Perry and I thought he was great and had lots of similarities. I even planned to see the new Journey in concert and I was really looking forward to watching this concert. Bottom line, as pointed out by one of my family viewers was that you cannot understand the words being said by Arnel Pineda. Very true and really burst my excitement bubble of the anticipation of watching this. You could understand the words later on a few songs but there was alot of muffled words. If you are a journey fan, then this is a MUST watch movie BUT I am not adding it to my collection like I planned. The reviews on Amazon are inflated and when I looked at the Swap ones, they were way lower."


Fear the Walking Dead: Season 2
Fear the Walking Dead: Season 2 (2016)
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Tracy B. (TeaBea) - 10/20/2018 11:22 AM
"Cover Art


I really enjoy this series. It's more than zombies and gore. Well developed characters, exploring one families struggle to survive."


The Smell of Success
The Smell of Success (2011) PG-13
Director: Michael Polish
Actors: Billy Bob Thornton, Téa Leoni, Ed Helms
Release Year: 2011

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/20/2018 3:15 AM
"Interesting plotline and I liked the arrival. Billy Bob has a strong solid role in this."


Bruce Hornsby and the Noisemakers: Three Nights on the Town
Bruce Hornsby and the Noisemakers: Three Nights on the Town (2005) NR
Actor: Bruce Hornsby
Release Year: 2005

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/20/2018 2:47 AM
"If you are a fan and know his music, get this BUT I only found one song I knew."


She's Funny That Way
She's Funny That Way (2015) R
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Don K. - 10/19/2018 1:15 PM
"Imogen Poots...WOW!"


Toy Story of Terror
Toy Story of Terror (2014) G
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Kathy C. - 10/19/2018 6:50 AM
"very short in good condition"


Winchester
Winchester (2018)
Actors: Helen Mirren, Jason Clarke, Sarah Snook
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 5:34 AM
"Interesting plotline based on some true events but it was slow going and did not have that many scary spots in the movie. A must for a horror fan though!"


Winchester [Blu-ray]
Winchester [Blu-ray] (2018)
Actors: Helen Mirren, Jason Clarke, Sarah Snook
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 5:33 AM
"Interesting plotline based on some true events but it was slow going and did not have that many scary spots in the movie. A must for a horror fan though!"


Best of Warner Bros 4 Film Favorites Nicholas Sparks Film Collection 4 DVD: A Walk to Remember; The Lucky One; Message in a Bottle; Nights in Rodanthe
Best of Warner Bros 4 Film Favorites Nicholas Sparks Film Collection 4 DVD: A Walk to Remember; The Lucky One; Message in a Bottle; Nights in Rodanthe (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:27 AM
"The Lucky One - Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


Lucky One, The (Blu-ray+DVD)
Lucky One, The (Blu-ray+DVD) (2012)
Director: Scott Hicks
Actors: Zac Efron, Taylor Schilling, Blythe Danner
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:27 AM
"Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


Notebook, The / Lucky One, The (DBFE)(BD) [Blu-ray]
Notebook, The / Lucky One, The (DBFE)(BD) [Blu-ray] (2014) PG-13
Director: Various
Actor: Various
Release Year: 2014

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:27 AM
"The Lucky One - Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!

The Notebook - Also, pretty good too."


Lucky One, The / Walk to Remember, A (DBFE)
Lucky One, The / Walk to Remember, A (DBFE) (2015) PG-13
Director: Various
Actor: Various
Release Year: 2015

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:26 AM
"The Lucky One - Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


Lucky One (Rental Ready)
Lucky One (Rental Ready) (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:26 AM
"Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


The Lucky One (Movie only+UltraViolet Digital Copy) [Blu-ray]
The Lucky One (Movie only+UltraViolet Digital Copy) [Blu-ray] (2012)
Director: Scott Hicks
Actors: Zac Efron, Taylor Schilling, Blythe Danner
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:26 AM
"Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


The Lucky One (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViolet Combo Pack)
The Lucky One (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViolet Combo Pack) (2012) PG-13
Director: Scott Hicks
Actors: Zac Efron, Taylor Schilling, Blythe Danner
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:25 AM
"Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


The Lucky One (DVD+UltraViolet)
The Lucky One (DVD+UltraViolet) (2012) PG-13
Director: Scott Hicks
Actors: Zac Efron, Taylor Schilling, Blythe Danner
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:25 AM
"Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


The Lucky One (DVD+UltraViolet)
The Lucky One (DVD+UltraViolet) (2012)
Director: Scott Hicks
Actors: Zac Efron, Taylor Schilling, Blythe Danner
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/19/2018 1:25 AM
"Thought this would be a chick flick but it actually had a pretty good plotline. Efron's acting was pretty good!"


Doctor Who: Four to Doomsday (Story 118)
Doctor Who: Four to Doomsday (Story 118) (2009) NR
Director: John Black
Actors: Peter Davison, Matthew Waterhouse, Sarah Sutton
Release Year: 2009

Review by: Samuel K. (Solvanda) - 10/18/2018 4:38 PM
"The TARDIS materializes on an immense interstellar ship 4 days out from Earth. Onboard we meet Monarch, ruler of Urbanka, his home planet, which he strip-mined and destroyed in a quest for minerals to improve the ship they are currently on. Monarch has identical plans for Earth. Monarch believes that if he can move the ship faster than the speed of light, he can pilot it back to the beginning of time and discover himself as God. There are many other revelations along the way in this quite busy tale. (Urbankans, by the way, look like large green skinned frog people.)

Four to Doomsday is a real visual treat. The Urbankan ship is a quintessent work of art, both outside in model work, and inside set-wise. For an underfunded scifi show made in 1981, the props appear sophisticated and technologically advanced. And it still does today. There are some deleted and extended scenes on the dvd which feature even more of these scenes, which I quite enjoyed. The costumes and makeup are also very effective here, as the story required a diverse ensemble of Terran cultures represented.

Many great one liners sweeten the pot, and, if you're paying attention, there's quite the abundance of double entendres. The roles are well characterized, excellent clarity of ideas, and well, this one has something I can't quite put my finger on. Perhaps charm? There's also a brilliant scene demonstrating some spacial physics via The Doctor utilizing a cricket ball."


Callie and Son
Callie and Son (2000) NR
Director: Waris Hussein
Actors: Lindsay Wagner, Jameson Parker, Dabney Coleman
Release Year: 2000

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 10/18/2018 1:43 AM
"Dated movie but lots of big name stars in this and an interesting plotline."