Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Sansone Leslie-Walk to the Hits Party Songs
Sansone Leslie-Walk to the Hits Party Songs (2013)
Release Year: 2013

Review by: Lori D. (Lillori1981) - 5/24/2018 1:12 PM
"Similar to the radio remix walk DVD, but different music. Actually, I enjoyed the music on this DVD a little bit more. Mc Hammer and Lionel Ritchie!! HIIT bursts during the 1st and 3rd miles. Another good Leslie walk to have handy for days when your motivation is lagging. The music makes the 45 minutes fly by!!"


Leslie Sansone: Walk To The Hits Radio Remixes
Leslie Sansone: Walk To The Hits Radio Remixes (2013) NR
Release Year: 2013

Review by: Lori D. (Lillori1981) - 5/24/2018 1:00 PM
"Great 45 minute 3 mile walk with Leslie! Love the music and the mini HIIT bursts during the walk. They are short and sweet and not too High intensity but enough to get a little bit of a HR boost."


JANE FONDA - WALKOUT
JANE FONDA - WALKOUT (0) NR

Review by: Lori D. (Lillori1981) - 5/24/2018 11:18 AM
"
Well, this workout is definitely a warm-up to do before an actual workout. There's 2 1-mile workouts, one is a beginner level and is about a 20 minute mile, the second is supposed to be more advanced and is about 17 minutes to complete a mile and stretch. This is meant for older exercisers or people who are just starting out. Jane looks fantastic for her age and she gives lots of good health info during the walks but prepare to feel old when you hear her talk about the "old days" every time she uses an older aerobic move and when she tells you all about her knee replacement and hip replacement. Also, she reminisces about how her first workout was released not on VHS at first, but on laserdisc. I don't even know what that is 😂 The best part by far on the whole DVD, though, is the 4 minutes that she devotes to telling you about kegel exercises and taking you through a short kegel workout. She explains in great detail about the different kinds of incontinence you will be facing as you age and explains the science behind the urethra weakening due to collegan loss and so on. All while being perfectly straight faced, she explains how to prevent the eventual decline of our vagina and keep ourselves from peeing ourselves. I believe the DVD is worth watching simply to see these 4 minutes of footage. She is truly a Hollywood legend 😉"


Jane Fonda: Prime Time - Walkout
Jane Fonda: Prime Time - Walkout (2010) NR
Actor: Jane Fonda
Release Year: 2010

Review by: Lori D. (Lillori1981) - 5/24/2018 11:17 AM
"Well, this workout is definitely a warm-up to do before an actual workout. There's 2 1-mile workouts, one is a beginner level and is about a 20 minute mile, the second is supposed to be more advanced and is about 17 minutes to complete a mile and stretch. This is meant for older exercisers or people who are just starting out. Jane looks fantastic for her age and she gives lots of good health info during the walks but prepare to feel old when you hear her talk about the "old days" every time she uses an older aerobic move and when she tells you all about her knee replacement and hip replacement. Also, she reminisces about how her first workout was released not on VHS at first, but on laserdisc. I don't even know what that is 😂 The best part by far on the whole DVD, though, is the 4 minutes that she devotes to telling you about kegel exercises and taking you through a short kegel workout. She explains in great detail about the different kinds of incontinence you will be facing as you age and explains the science behind the urethra weakening due to collegan loss and so on. All while being perfectly straight faced, she explains how to prevent the eventual decline of our vagina and keep ourselves from peeing ourselves. I believe the DVD is worth watching simply to see these 4 minutes of footage. She is truly a Hollywood legend 😉"


Hairspray (Widescreen Edition)
Hairspray (Widescreen Edition) (2007) PG
Director: Adam Shankman
Actors: John Travolta, Michelle Pffeifer, Queen Latifah
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Alice B. - 5/24/2018 9:50 AM
"Hairspray: (2007) (DVD) (WS) Rated PG This movie is Hilarious. If you want to laugh this movie is hysterical. John Travolta is great as a woman playing Mrs Turnblad. He is so Plus Size and a a great whispery woman's voice and Flirtatious giggle and woman's wiggle. Remember the 1960's house cooled fans no AC, Record player and records, Iron everything and pin out the laundry on the clothesline. Mrs T and Tracy are given a wardrobe of matching tent dresses.Of couse, Mrs T is a stay at home mom and Christopher WAlken Is Great as Mr T the dad, Husband and breadwinner.

In 1962 Baltimore, chunky Tracy Turnblad (Nikki Blonsky) dreams big: land a gig on the see-and-be-seen TV teen-scene hit The Corny Collins Show, win the heart of the nicest and cutest boy in school (Zac Efron), and strike a blow for civil rights. And whaddaya know Ė it all comes true! Boppiní with all the joy of the long-running, award-winning Broadway musical smash and blazing with sublime star power (including John Travolta and Christopher Walken as Tracyís devoted, dance-happy mom and dad), ďHairspray earns knockout status for its humor, heart and high spirits. Öa plus-size bundle of funĒ."


Treasures of the Snow - A Story of Friendship and Forgiveness
Treasures of the Snow - A Story of Friendship and Forgiveness (0)
Director: MIKE PRITCHARD

Review by: Alice B. - 5/24/2018 8:56 AM
"Excellent Family movie about God's Forgiveness!"


War of the Buttons
War of the Buttons (2013) PG-13
Director: Christophe Barratier
Actors: Jean Texier, Ilona Bachelier
Release Year: 2013

Review by: S.J. T. - 5/23/2018 11:02 PM
"I think this is such an excellent movie - I saw it years ago on screen and have looked for years for a copy to watch it again in more detail. Thanks be to SwapaDVD!
This is a true story about class warfare going on within a "real" war, children of the more affluent community fighting with the poor boys of town during World War 2...something many of us might have experienced in our own home country...and has been going on for generations...shades of Romeo and Juliet, and of "West Side Story" if any of you readers are old enough to remember how the tensions of that "gang warfare" infected the whole coummunity, especially the girls and young women. Only this is a younger more "innocent" version, because rather than knives and guns, these young boys gang up on each other and cut the buttons off "losers" clothing...which gets them whippings from their parents, because clothing and even buttons are not easy to obtain in Europe in WW2.
Enter the girls as young seamstress rescuers...and loyalties switch back and forth as the girls are attracted to different boys, and vice versa.
My favorite combination in a story of humor and empathy carries my interest until the ugly reality enters as the Nazis approach the village, looking for a teacher reportedly hiding a young Jewish girl, and we all know from reading "The Diary of Anne Frank" how dangerous that crisis was to the town. Will the chilren's battles unknowingly endanger the lives of the local villagers? Can mere children understand the dangers and complexities of the cunning Nazi regime? Good story, and spell-binding at times!
I didn't realize when I saw it in a theater that it was a true story, but watch the ending through the credits, because it tells the "rest of the story" after the war ends, as far as the author knew it. Very interesting.
"


Supersweatin': Party Off the Pounds
Supersweatin': Party Off the Pounds (2008) NR
Director: not specified
Actor: Richard Simmons
Release Year: 2008

Review by: Lori D. (Lillori1981) - 5/23/2018 6:24 PM
"I personally love Richard Simmons and although he can be a cheeseball in his workouts, I will always enjoy them. I had not heard of this DVD before I ordered it, but it was everything that can be expected from one of his DVDs. Easy to follow, low impact, ridiculously high production value (considering it's a workout DVD!) and cheesy encouraging words of wisdom from RS throughout. I really enjoyed the 80s tunes in this one and the ridiculously fantastic late 90s hair and wardrobe! Good times for all who love a good Richard Simmons sweat to the oldies!"


The Firm: Body Sculpting System - Body Sculpt
The Firm: Body Sculpting System - Body Sculpt (2003) NR
Actor: FIRM-BODY SCULPT
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Gretchen B. - 5/23/2018 5:27 PM
"Tough, but effective workout."


Early Man
Early Man (2018) PG
Actors: Eddie Redmayne, Tom Hiddleston
Release Year: 2018

Review by: Karen D. - 5/23/2018 1:13 AM
"Iím reviewing the movie Early Man this was supposed to be a comedy set in prehistoric times about a caveman named Dug who tries to win his home back from the invaders who are more modern by playing a game of soccer I personally found this movie very boring and didnít even want to finish it I would rate this movie 1 Star ⭐️ maybe if your into soccer then you would enjoy this movie. This movie is rated PG for some rude humor and some action"


Early Man [Blu-ray]
Early Man [Blu-ray] (2018) PG
Actors: Eddie Redmayne, Tom Hiddleston
Release Year: 2018

Review by: Karen D. - 5/23/2018 1:12 AM
"Iím reviewing the movie Early Man this was supposed to be a comedy set in prehistoric times about a caveman named Dug who tries to win his home back from the invaders who are more modern by playing a game of soccer I personally found this movie very boring and didnít even want to finish it I would rate this movie 1 Star ⭐️ maybe if your into soccer then you would enjoy this movie. This movie is rated PG for some rude humor and some action"


Game Night
Game Night (0)
Directors: John Francis Daley, Jonathan Goldstein
Actors: Jason Bateman, Rachel McAdams, Kylie Bunbury

Review by: Karen D. - 5/22/2018 11:53 PM
"Iím reviewing the movie game night this movie started out with Annie and Max who host weekly game nights with there fiends then the brother brooks shows up and arranges a murder mystery party for them all he goes all out and even provides fake thugs and fake federal agents but they donít realize this is not part of the game and try to win the grand prize but they soon realize the truth. there are lots of plot twists that keep you guessing whatís going to happen next I would rate this movie 4 stars 🌟 but do note there is plenty of blood in this movie itís rated R for language sexual references and some violence"


Game Night (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Combo Pack)
Game Night (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Combo Pack) (0)

Review by: Karen D. - 5/22/2018 11:53 PM
"Iím reviewing the movie game night this movie started out with Annie and Max who host weekly game nights with there fiends then the brother brooks shows up and arranges a murder mystery party for them all he goes all out and even provides fake thugs and fake federal agents but they donít realize this is not part of the game and try to win the grand prize but they soon realize the truth. there are lots of plot twists that keep you guessing whatís going to happen next I would rate this movie 4 stars 🌟 but do note there is plenty of blood in this movie itís rated R for language sexual references and some violence"


Automobiles: 1988 IROC-Z Camaro
Automobiles: 1988 IROC-Z Camaro (2009) NR
Director: _
Actor: Full Throttle
Release Year: 2009

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 5/22/2018 3:26 PM
"I was not expecting much but the two teams fighting to win both cars in a race after they turbo charged them was beyond cool!"


Pokemon the Movie: I Choose You! (DVD)
Pokemon the Movie: I Choose You! (DVD) (2018)
Director: Various
Actor: Various
Release Year: 2018

Review by: Schuylar L. (schuym1) - 5/21/2018 11:30 PM
"A great retelling of the beginning of Ash's journey. The movie includes glorious animation, different types of Pokemon generations, and multiple legendary Pokemon."


King Of New York [Blu-ray]
King Of New York [Blu-ray] (2007) R
Director: Abel Ferrara
Actors: Christopher Walken, David Caruso, Laurence Fishburne
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Denise J. (mdjohnson314) - 5/20/2018 5:34 PM
"One of my favorites"


2 Guns (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet)
2 Guns (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (0)
Director: Baltasar KormŠkur
Actors: Denzel Washington, Mark Wahlberg, Paula Patton

Review by: Denise J. (mdjohnson314) - 5/20/2018 5:33 PM
"It's a great movie... one of my favorites"


Joshua
Joshua (2006) R
Director: Travis Betz
Actors: Jim Betz, Jacob Casper, Jesse Casper
Release Year: 2006

Review by: Rodney P. - 5/20/2018 4:16 PM
"Gruesome and sinister film"


Pokemon Advanced Battle, Vol. 1 - Gaining Groudon
Pokemon Advanced Battle, Vol. 1 - Gaining Groudon (2006) NR
Actors: Veronica Taylor, Rachael Lillis, Eric Stuart
Release Year: 2006

Review by: Schuylar L. (schuym1) - 5/20/2018 1:46 AM
"The first 5 episodes of Pokemon Advanced Battle. This is the final season of Pokemon that 4Kids Entertainment dubbed. Pokemon was always a kiddie show so 4Kids dubbing it was fine, but I could go on a rant how they ruined other anime such as One Piece. Anyway, these are a solid 5 episodes and a good intro to the season."


Hidalgo (Full Screen Edition)
Hidalgo (Full Screen Edition) (2004) PG-13
Director: Joe Johnston
Actors: Viggo Mortensen, Omar Sharif, Zuleikha Robinson
Release Year: 2004

Review by: Jeannine P. - 5/19/2018 11:19 PM
"The actions scenes were too few and too far between. Please take this movie off our hands. We do not want to make a mistake and watch it again."


Classical Stretch - The Esmonde Technique: Complete Season 10 - Strength and Flexibility
Classical Stretch - The Esmonde Technique: Complete Season 10 - Strength and Flexibility (0)
Actor: Miranda Esmonde-White

Review by: Rose A. - 5/19/2018 7:28 PM
"Excellent and easy stretches help flexibility"


Game of Death
Game of Death (2002) R
Directors: Bruce Lee, Robert Clouse, Sammo Hung Kam-Bo
Actors: Bruce Lee, Gig Young, Colleen Camp
Release Year: 2002

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 5/19/2018 5:31 PM
"Very weak Bruce Lee movie. Skip it!"


Bruce Lee: Way Of The Dragon / Game Of Death
Bruce Lee: Way Of The Dragon / Game Of Death (2013) R
Director: Bruce Lee
Actors: Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris
Release Year: 2013

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 5/19/2018 5:11 PM
"The Way of the Dragon was great. Game of Death pulled a 4/5 rating down to 2.50."


Way Of The Dragon
Way Of The Dragon (2008) R
Director: Bruce Lee
Actors: Bruce Lee (Siu Lung), Nora Miao, Wong Chung Shun
Release Year: 2008

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 5/19/2018 5:11 PM
"The Way of the Dragon was great."


Bruce Lee Double Feature: The Way of the Dragon / Game of Death
Bruce Lee Double Feature: The Way of the Dragon / Game of Death (0) R
Directors: Bruce Lee, Robert Clouse
Actors: Bruce Lee, Nora Miao, Gig Young

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 5/19/2018 5:11 PM
"The Way of the Dragon was great. Game of Death pulled a 4/5 rating down to 2.50."