Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Romance 4 Film Favorites (The Bachelor / Bed of Roses / Laws of Attraction / Don Juan DeMarco)
Romance 4 Film Favorites (The Bachelor / Bed of Roses / Laws of Attraction / Don Juan DeMarco) (2007) NR
Actors: Johnny Depp, Renée Zellweger, Christian Slater
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Larry N. - 11/23/2017 10:17 AM
"The Bachelor - This is the gem in this set. Intended to be very comical, the comedy is excellent. The movie is about one particular bachelor whom is witnessing his friends getting married one by one until it is ultimately his time, however he's just not ready. In the meantime, his grandfather passes away and leaves him a fortune, under the condition that he be married by his next birthday, about a day and a half away. Chaos and hilarity ensue as he tries to convince past girlfriends to marry him.

Bed of Roses - A decent story of boy finds girl, boy gets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl back story.

Laws of Attraction - Same plot as Bed of Roses, but different situations. Not quite as good as Bed of Roses and not quite as believable.

Don Juan DeMarco -"


The Ground Truth
The Ground Truth (2006) R
Director: Patricia Foulkrod
Actors: Herold Noel, Robert Acosta, Sean Huze
Release Year: 2006

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/22/2017 3:50 AM
"The first forty minutes was real good and then it slow down. A good look at the suffering of our veterans and what they give for our great country."


Sing Street
Sing Street (2016)
Director: John Carney
Actors: Aidan Gillen, Maria Doyle Kennedy, Jack Reynor
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Carol C. - 11/21/2017 3:01 PM
"I loved this Movie!!! Not what I thought it was. Sing Street is the name of a band...formed to get the girl! It was great!"


Better Call Saul: Season 2 (Blu-ray + UltraViolet)
Better Call Saul: Season 2 (Blu-ray + UltraViolet) (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/21/2017 1:30 PM
"As great if not better than Season 1. Really evolves the Breaking Bad characters."


Better Call Saul: Season Two
Better Call Saul: Season Two (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/21/2017 1:30 PM
"As great if not better than Season 1. Really evolves the Breaking Bad characters."


The Great Dan Patch
The Great Dan Patch (2004) NR
Director: Joseph Newman
Actors: Charlotte Greenwood, John Hoyt, Henry Hull
Release Year: 2004

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 11/20/2017 12:12 PM
"A movie (and book) I watched and read as a child, The Great Dan Patch is a moving and beautiful story that was factual in many regards. The horse so fast he caused the competition to scratch whenever he entered the race made his races a show for the world to see as he continued to break his own records. Dennis O'Keefe, ever the leading man in B rated movies, shines as the owner who refuses to give up on his special horse and Ruth Warwick, Phoebe Wallingford for many years on All My Children, lead the cast of this enjoyable movie. And you don't have to be a child to enjoy it!"


The Lost Weekend
The Lost Weekend (2001) NR
Director: Billy Wilder
Actors: Ray Milland, Jane Wyman, Phillip Terry
Release Year: 2001

Review by: Steve P. (StampJockey) - 11/19/2017 10:58 PM
"This film harkens back to the days when films were judged on their content, not on their special effects and how much money was spent to make them. The Lost weekend gives us a view into one of the darker subjects that we tend to avoid, and captivates us as it does so. If you are a fan of classic movies, this Best Picture Oscar winner is definitely one you should check out."


The Lost Weekend
The Lost Weekend (2001) NR
Director: Billy Wilder
Actors: Ray Milland, Jane Wyman, Phillip Terry
Release Year: 2001

Review by: Schuylar L. (schuym1) - 11/19/2017 9:05 PM
"A captivating look at alcoholism and its effects, which says a lot because this is a 1945 movie."


The Jackal - Collector's Edition
The Jackal - Collector's Edition (1998) R
Director: Michael Caton-Jones
Actors: Bruce Willis, Richard Gere, Sidney Poitier
Release Year: 1998

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 11/19/2017 12:37 PM
"Excellent script with super acting talent including Bruce Willis (as a "bad guy" for a change of pace) along with Richard Gere (An Officer and a Gentleman) plus one of the all time best actors.... Sidney Portier!
Tension is high and action is nearly constant in this thriller!"


Life Inside Out
Life Inside Out (2015) NR
Director: Jill D'Agnenica
Actors: Maggie Baird, Finneas O'Connell, Lori Nasso
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Lenny N. (Qsrasra) - 11/19/2017 3:10 AM
"A worthwhile slice-of-life film. The siutations are real life, not over written. Good acting. Winner at over 10 Film Festivals for a reason."


Utopia
Utopia (0)

Review by: Kimberly C. (wonga) - 11/18/2017 5:51 PM
"this is the Laurel and Hardy movie from 1954, their last movie together; black and white"


Unbreakable (Two-Disc Vista Series)
Unbreakable (Two-Disc Vista Series) (2001) PG-13
Director: M. Night Shyamalan
Actors: Bruce Willis, Samuel L. Jackson, Robin Wright
Release Year: 2001

Review by: David M. (KingofGarageSales) - 11/17/2017 8:29 PM
"I don't recall being more disappointed in a movie. The adjectives "slow" and "plodding" immediately spring to mind; after about ten minutes I had to fast-forward through the numerous ten-second-instances it took Bruce Willis to turn his head (indicating, one supposes, the degree of ominousness of the sound he had just heard)or the thirty seconds--literally, by my watch--it took him to walk across a room in slow motion.

The movie's premise (that Willis is "unbreakable", having never suffered an injury or so much as a common cold despite having been in a car crash and a train derailment that left 475 dead, with him being the sole, unscratched, survivor) is not revealed until a third of the way into the movie.

And from that the denouement--that he has been in denial of the fact that, like the heroes in his son's comic books, he has super powers to spot hidden weapons on persons nearby and with no more than a casual brush with a stranger can immediately learn what horrible acts that person has committed.

Throughout the movie he has contact--and even befriends--the character played by Samuel L. Jackson, who is Willis antithesis: Born with a genetic defect, his bones shatter like glass with any fall, and he is secretly an archvillian who is responsible for the death of hundreds (a fact that Willis, despite his super powers, does not deduce until the last minutes of the film).

Described in three words, I found the movie to be: Slooow, plodding, and boring."


The Cannonball Run
The Cannonball Run (2001) PG
Director: Hal Needham
Actors: Burt Reynolds, Roger Moore, Farrah Fawcett
Release Year: 2001

Review by: Robert S. (Bo) - 11/17/2017 7:38 PM
"Lots of fun. amusing. It has some scenes that would be questionable for the younger people, but nothing that is too outlandish."


The Who - Live at the Royal Albert Hall
The Who - Live at the Royal Albert Hall (2001) NR
Director: Dick Carruthers
Actors: Bryan Adams, John Bundrick, Roger Daltrey
Release Year: 2001

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/17/2017 1:38 AM
"Lots of other musicians performing with The Who which adds to the great performance. The picture quality looked great on DVD too."


Firehouse Christmas
Firehouse Christmas (2017)
Director: George Erschbamer
Actors: Anita Brown, Anna Hutchinson, Marcus Rosner
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Karen D. - 11/16/2017 3:39 AM
"I don’t know why people said this movie was bad I truly enjoyed it maybe they didn’t like it cause it was a drama/romance or maybe they never truly gave it a chance but for me this movie was very good it reminded me of a hallmark movie and I thought it was until I looked it up and saw it was a TV movie From ion channel I would definitely recommend this one and I think you should honestly give it a chance I will be adding it to my holiday collection"


Catfish
Catfish (2011) PG-13
Director: Ariel Schulman Henry Joost
Actors: Nev Schulman, Michigander Abby
Release Year: 2011

Review by: Tara C. - 11/15/2017 1:13 PM
"big fan of the tv show. movie was great!"


LA LA Land 4K [Blu-ray]
LA LA Land 4K [Blu-ray] (0)
Director: Damien Chazelle
Actor: Emma Stone Ryan Gosling

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/15/2017 3:40 AM
"Watched this tonight. It was an unexpected hit for me and not surprising that it won six academy awards. Well deserving of those awards for its creativity and unexpected twist. A must watch for Ryan Gosling fans. Do not let the beginning fool you with it being different since it takes off later."


LA LA Land
LA LA Land (0)
Director: Damien Chazelle
Actor: Emma Stone Ryan Gosling

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/15/2017 3:40 AM
"Watched this tonight. It was an unexpected hit for me and not surprising that it won six academy awards. Well deserving of those awards for its creativity and unexpected twist. A must watch for Ryan Gosling fans."


LA LA Land [Blu-ray]
LA LA Land [Blu-ray] (0)
Director: Damien Chazelle
Actor: Emma Stone Ryan Gosling

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/15/2017 3:40 AM
"Watched this tonight. It was an unexpected hit for me and not surprising that it won six academy awards. Well deserving of those awards for its creativity and unexpected twist. A must watch for Ryan Gosling fans. Do not let the beginning fool you with it being different since it takes off later."


Just Like Heaven (Widescreen Edition)
Just Like Heaven (Widescreen Edition) (2006) PG-13
Director: Mark Waters
Actors: Reese Witherspoon, Mark Ruffalo, Donal Logue
Release Year: 2006

Review by: Lenny N. (Qsrasra) - 11/14/2017 10:52 PM
"A nice romantic comedy. A sweet version of the rescue-fantasy theme, this was enjoyable and worth my time. It left me feeling warm inside."


Signs (Vista Series)
Signs (Vista Series) (2003) PG-13
Actors: Mel Gibson, Joaquin Phoenix, Clifford David
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Austin D. - 11/14/2017 9:27 AM
"Thrilling!"


Terms of Endearment
Terms of Endearment (2001) R
Director: James L. Brooks
Actors: Shirley MacLaine, Debra Winger, Jack Nicholson
Release Year: 2001

Review by: Tina L. (SapphireBlue) - 11/14/2017 4:09 AM
"Love the plot, movie is great actors are awesome!!"


Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 [Blu-ray]
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (0)
Director: James Gunn
Actors: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/14/2017 2:40 AM
"Pretty intense special effects and good storyline at times but cheesy main evil character later in the movie and quite a bit of dragging points. Quite a disappointment compared to the original movie."


Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2 (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD)
Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2 (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/14/2017 2:39 AM
"Pretty intense special effects and good storyline at times but cheesy main evil character later in the movie and quite a bit of dragging points. Quite a disappointment compared to the original movie."


Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2  (DVD)
Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2 (DVD) (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 11/14/2017 2:39 AM
"Pretty intense special effects and good storyline at times but cheesy main evil character later in the movie and quite a bit of dragging points. Quite a disappointment compared to the original movie."