Marla W.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 25 of 55 - Page:
The Adventures of the Wilderness Family (Special Edition)
The Adventures of the Wilderness Family (Special Edition) (2003)
Actors: Susan Damante, Robert Logan, Hollye Holmes
Release Year: 2003
Date: 7/27/2009 2:28 ET
2 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

I love this movie! I loved it as a kid and now my children really enjoy it! This is a story of family togetherness, they can do anything as long as they're together. It's a story of survival, love and laughter. There are some intense moments though that may be tough for younger viewers though, like when Jenny gets chased by a pack of wolves, and a bear, etc. Something's always chasing that poor asthmatic girl!

Review Date: 7/27/2009
ALF Tales: ALF and the Beanstalk and Other Classic Fairy Tales
ALF Tales: ALF and the Beanstalk and Other Classic Fairy Tales (2006)
Actors: Mihaly 'Michu' Meszaros, Abraham Verduzco, Paul Fusco
Release Year: 2006
Date: 9/6/2009 9:54 ET
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable for any ALF fan. It was a fun take on these old classic fairy tales.

Review Date: 9/6/2009
Almost a Bride
Almost a Bride (2005)
Actors: Shirley Temple, David Niven, Tom Tully
Release Year: 2005
Date: 3/5/2009 11:10 ET
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

You can't go wrong with Shirley Temple. Even in her last film, she's great!

Review Date: 3/5/2009
Alvin & The Chipmunks Go To The Movies - Funny We Shrunk The Adults
Alvin & The Chipmunks Go To The Movies - Funny We Shrunk The Adults (2008)
Release Year: 2008
Date: 11/4/2009 7:50 ET
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable for any Chipmunks fan!

Review Date: 11/4/2009
Annie Oakley
Annie Oakley (2007)
Actors: Barbara Stanwyck, Melvyn Douglas
Release Year: 2007
Date: 7/21/2009 2:07 ET

A wonderful movie with a great cast. I really liked seeing Barbara Stanwyck in this different genre. I'm used to seeing her as a sassy successful career woman, here she is the sassy successful sharpshooter, Annie Oakly, star of Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show. Some fun special features too!

Review Date: 7/21/2009
Bewitched: The Complete Eighth Season
Bewitched: The Complete Eighth Season (2009)
Actors: Elizabeth Montgomery, Dick Sargent, Agnes Moorehead
Release Year: 2009
Date: 10/16/2009 8:10 ET

My entire family just loves this show! My 8 year old daughter loves Tabitha. I really enjoy the travelling shows from this season. Samantha and Darrin go to Rome and Scotland and all sorts of places! I love the episode where Sam has to figure out how to making the Leaning Tower of Pisa lean again, apparently Serena made it lean centuries ago and it wasn't supposed too! Classic Bewitched!

Review Date: 10/16/2009
Bicentennial Man
Bicentennial Man (2000)
Actors: Robin Williams, Embeth Davidtz, Sam Neill
Release Year: 2000
Date: 1/6/2010 8:27 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

My husband says I'm one of the few people that really liked this movie and I don't believe that. I really enjoyed this movie. Robin Williams plays a robot that wants to be real because he just wants to feel what everyone else feels. He eventually falls in love in Embeth Davidtz and when it's her time to go, he makes sure, it's his too because he doesn't want to live without her. He's been with her family for generations that he feels that he has been through enough and she has now become his life. Oliver Platt provides some much needed comic relief, as well as the feelings he goes on a journey to find, as the scientist who can give him what he needs. Very enjoyable film.

Review Date: 1/6/2010
Biloxi Blues
Biloxi Blues (2004)
Actors: Matthew Broderick, Christopher Walken, Matt Mulhern
Release Year: 2004
Date: 5/26/2009 11:31 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Great sequel. Although I really liked Brighton Beach Memoirs with Jonathon Silverman as Eugene, Matthew Broderick really makes the role his own. Although Christopher Walken does tend to steal the show.

Review Date: 5/26/2009
The Blue Elephant
The Blue Elephant (2008)
Actors: Voice of Miranda Cosgrove, Voice of Carl Reiner
Release Year: 2008
Date: 8/7/2009 3:35 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This one was cute. My 8 year old loved that the female lead elephant (she's pink!) was Miranda Cosgrove of iCarly. It's about an elephant searching for his mother, after they get separated, and ends up becoming a great elephant and finding out that his father was a hero and the royal elephant before him. The ending, where he finds his mother reminded me of Dumbo where Mrs. Jumbo goes crazy trying to protect Dumbo and the elephant mother goes crazy trying to get to her son after finding him finally. It was enjoyable.

Review Date: 8/7/2009
Bon Voyage!
Bon Voyage! (2004)
Actors: Fred MacMurray, Jane Wyman, Michael Callan
Release Year: 2004
Date: 11/4/2009 7:50 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wonderful old Disney movie with a great cast set on a cruise to Europe and their adventures in Europe. With Fred MacMurray, Jane Wyman and former Mouseketeers Tommy Kirk and Kevin Corcoran, it is a great family movie. My kids just love it! There is a love story for the teenage girls to enjoy, the father can't seem to keep up with his youngest son and is feeling his age, the oldest son is trying to make himself into something he will probably never be. Mom's story is the best with a jealous would-be lover who she is not interested in but just won't leave her alone, yet her husband can't seem to figure out what to do with him! Very entertaining!

Review Date: 11/4/2009
Casino Royale (2-Disc Full Screen Edition)
Casino Royale (2-Disc Full Screen Edition) (2007)
Actors: Daniel Craig, Eva Green, Judi Dench
Release Year: 2007
Date: 3/5/2009 8:18 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

After Pierce Brosnan, I never thought I would like anyone else as James Bond but there's something to be said for a blonde Bond...I really enjoyed Daniel Craig in this role. This movie defined who Bond became in the later films.

Review Date: 3/5/2009
Classic Quad Set 1
Classic Quad Set 1 (2010)
Actors: Frank Sinatra, Fred Astaire
Release Year: 2010
Date: 1/8/2011 10:54 ET

This is a wonderful collection of classics. If you haven't seen the original of the King and I (aka Anna and the King of Siam), it is really worth your time. Rex Harrison does an amazing job as the king, an interesting contrast to Yul Brenner in the musical. Daddy Long Legs shows Fred Astaire with a great dancing partner, Cyd Charisse, poetry in motion watching these two together. The Can-Can is enjoyable with Frank Sinatra and Shirley MacLaine. While Star! is not Julie Andrews' best work, it's still worth watching.

Review Date: 1/8/2011
Clockstoppers
Clockstoppers (2002)
Actors: Jesse Bradford, Robin Thomas
Release Year: 2002
Date: 9/1/2009 8:20 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable family movie. Cool special effects with the time travel. My girls got a kick out of hearing the young female lead with her accent on, then off again! I missed Jonathan Frakes appearance though. Usually, even in the films he's just directing, he will pop in somewhere! Not this time though...

Review Date: 9/1/2009
Dave
Dave (1998)
Actors: Kevin Kline, Sigourney Weaver, Frank Langella
Release Year: 1998
Date: 3/29/2010 11:08 ET

This is one of my favorite movies! The story goes that the President has a stroke while having an affair with his secretary. A select few of his staff decide to get someone to "be" him while the president is in a coma. That's where "Dave" comes in. He is a do-gooder that runs a temp agency. While his staff thinks he is on vacation, he's really impersonating the president. When the President's wife discovers it's not her husband (she and her husband had been living very separate lives for years), she and Dave decide together to try to get the country back to where it should be! I don't want to give too much away though... It's very enjoyable and Sigourney Weaver, as the President's wife, and Kevin Kline, as Dave, have great chemistry together.

Just try it, you'll love it!

Review Date: 3/29/2010
The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer
The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer (2003)
Actors: Lisa Brenner, Steven Brand, Kate Burton
Release Year: 2003
Date: 11/16/2009 7:14 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Not nearly as good as Rose Red. The book is better. This is very different, a lot of the characters are mixed up and eliminated. Not nearly as creepy as I was expecting. Rose Red is much creepier. The daughter with the deformed arm is just too cute that you don't even notice the arm. There isn't a lot of chemistry between Ellen and Lukeena, just didn't see it. Disappointing...

Review Date: 11/16/2009
Disney's Sing Along Songs - Very Merry Christmas Songs
Disney's Sing Along Songs - Very Merry Christmas Songs (2002)
Actors: Wayne Allwine, Eddie Carroll
Release Year: 2002
Date: 2/27/2010 9:54 ET

Very enjoyable sing along DVD. Enjoy old Disney cartoons while you enjoy the sounds of Christmas!

Review Date: 2/27/2010
Doogie Howser, M.D. - Season One
Doogie Howser, M.D. - Season One (2005)
Actors: Neil Patrick Harris, Max Casella, Belinda Montgomery
Release Year: 2005
Date: 5/22/2010 11:25 ET

I haven't seen this since it was first run but it was really enjoyable. My kids are enjoying it as well too! They can't believe how grown up Doogie Howser is today and that he's a Broadway star!

Review Date: 5/22/2010
Eerie, Indiana - Forever Ware / The Retainer / ATM with a Heart of Gold
Eerie, Indiana - Forever Ware / The Retainer / ATM with a Heart of Gold (2000)
Actors: Omri Katz, Justin Shenkarow, Francis Guinan
Release Year: 2000
Date: 3/22/2010 2:31 ET

This was a great show! I remember watching it when I was a kid! When I saw this, I thought now MY kids have a chance to enjoy it as much as I did. When it ended, they just wanted to watch more. It was such a good show but disappointing that it ended after barely a season. I liked the first show the best where the mother had been preserving herself and her children in her husband's invention of a kind of Tupperware for over 30 years! Every night she sealed the kids in their own body sized containers and herself too! Very bizarre but cool. It reminded me of Amazing Stories or Tales from the Darkside but for kids and the whole family!

Review Date: 3/22/2010
Eloise's Rawther Unusual Halloween
Eloise's Rawther Unusual Halloween (2008)
Actors: Tim Curry, Brad Garrett, Lynn Redgrave
Release Year: 2008
Date: 2/8/2010 8:12 ET

My eight year old says, "It was really cute. Eloise and her two friends are having a sleepover and Nanny is telling a ghost story that the girls believe is true about the Legend of the Plaza Ghost. Eloise hears noises outside and thinks it's him! She goes to investigate. I liked it!" Mom thought it was cute too!

Review Date: 2/8/2010
Elvis By the Presleys
Elvis By the Presleys (2005)
Actors: Elvis Presley, Lisa Marie Presley, Priscilla Presley
Release Year: 2005
Date: 10/28/2010 10:16 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this 2 disc set. It had some wonderful behind the scenes looks at Graceland, Elvis and his family. It showed a different side of Elvis that you didn't see in his movies. It showed his devotion to his family and his spiritual quest for the meaning of life. Quite a different take on what you would expect from the King of Rock and Roll.

Review Date: 10/28/2010
Foul Play
Foul Play (2004)
Actors: Goldie Hawn, Chevy Chase, Burgess Meredith
Release Year: 2004
Date: 2/19/2010 9:47 ET
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is one of my all time favorite movies! Chevy Chase and Goldie Hawn have such wonderful chemistry and Dudley Moore is just hilarious! You would never know that this was Chevy Chase's movie debut and Dudley Moore was not well known yet either. Chevy Chase is really convincing as a police detective that as he says, "the police have the best dope!" My favorite line of the movie is when Goldie Hawn's friend from work tells her that all men are just trying to get into her pants and that she has to "draaaaag yourself into the 70s!!!" in her heavy New York accent, although the movie is set in San Francisco. Then she gives her a set of brass knuckles, maise and other assorted stuff to defend herself from all these men that are after her. The plot is good and easy to understand, I don't want to give too much away! Very enjoyable movie though! You will love it!

Review Date: 2/19/2010
Frosty's Winter Wonderland/Twas the Night Before Christmas
Frosty's Winter Wonderland/Twas the Night Before Christmas (2004)
Actors: Andy Griffith, Shelley Winters, Dennis Day
Release Year: 2004
Date: 10/13/2009 9:40 ET

This is one of my all-time favorite Christmas specials. It contains the elements of the first Frosty the Snowman movie and mixes it with a love story about Frosty and his snow wife. Even the Parson is made of snow! Just wonderful.

This DVD also contains 'Twas the Night Before Christmas about the mouse family whose son does not believe in Santa and almost ruins it for the rest of the town of Junctionville. The mice and the humans have to work together to fix things. Classic Christmas at its best!!

Review Date: 10/13/2009
The Goldilocks and the 3 Bears Show
The Goldilocks and the 3 Bears Show (2008)
Actors: Brooke Shields, Tom Arnold, Jaime Lynn Spears
Release Year: 2008
Date: 8/7/2009 3:30 ET

It was pretty hokey. Kind of a stupid plot. My eight year old liked it but my 14 year old thought it was pretty lame. Goldilocks is the host of her own reality tv show. She goes into houses and redoes them without permission and ends up ruining the 3 bears' lives and house when she makes it over all in candy!! Then when her show gets cancelled, she gets another show where she ends up living with the bears. Not great...

Review Date: 8/7/2009
InAlienable
InAlienable (2010)
Actors: Jay Acovone, Erick Avari, Gary Graham
Release Year: 2010
Date: 11/27/2010 11:26 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Initially, when it started, I thought it looked like a bad soft-core flick, but it just turned out to be a bad movie. The only redeeming quality was the cast. For a Sci-Fi fan, it was interesting to see who would show up next! The majority of the cast was from Star Trek of every series of the franchise and a few of the movies too. A couple of Stargate regulars were there too!

Review Date: 11/27/2010
Interview with the Vampire
Interview with the Vampire (2000)
Actors: Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, Christian Slater
Release Year: 2000
Date: 4/7/2010 8:33 ET
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

I remember really liking this movie when it first came out but watching it again makes me realize how I really like Brad Pitt and Antonio Banderas (especially him, who looks incredibly sexy!) with long hair, Tom Cruise not so much. The movie is good, my 15 year old, who is a vampire fanatic with all of the Twilight phenomenon now, was amazed at how much she really loved it! Kirsten Dunst shows why she is such a versatile actress today as she plays a child vampire in what was one of her earliest roles. Stephen Rea makes an appearance as a quirky vampire who is a little on the strange side...then again, aren't all of his roles on the strange side?? In any case, a great movie to watch when you need a little neck biting in your life! Enjoy!

Review Date: 4/7/2010
1 to 25 of 55 - Page: