Deidra C.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 25 of 100 - Page:
3000 Miles to Graceland (Snap Case)
3000 Miles to Graceland (Snap Case) (2001)
Actors: Kurt Russell, Kevin Costner, Courteney Cox
Release Year: 2001
Date: 10/16/2010 2:51 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Oh man!! I love this movie!!
3000 MILES TO GRACELAND is the&s#@@!! How can you not love a movie with big guns, trashy women, a big casino heist and Elvis!!

Michael has just been released from jail and arrives at a rundown motel to wait for his buddies. In the meantime, Michael meets Courtney Cox and they have a steamy encounter that connects. But lurking in the background is the grand plan--to hold up a Las Vegas casino during the midst of an Elvis convention.

Kevin Costner is one of the would-be robbers and he is the spooky kind of guy your mom warned you about. One should definitely cross the street to avoid him, if one saw him coming near. And he has secrets that he is quite passionate in keeping.

The action is awesome, violent and heartbreaking. Costner plays a character with soooo many layers that even at the end, I still thought there was more to tell and the chemistry between Russell and Cox is smokin'!!

3000 MILES TO GRACELAND is the ultimate thrill ride, just a flat out funnier (bad pun) time! The absolute best way to spend a couple hours. So just sit back, put your feet up, have a BIG bag of popcorn and prepare to totally lose yourself in this film!!

Two thumbs up and a snap!!

Review Date: 10/16/2010
4 Movie Marathon: Cult Horror Collection (The Funhouse / Phantasm II / The Serpent and the Rainbow / Sssssss)
4 Movie Marathon: Cult Horror Collection (The Funhouse / Phantasm II / The Serpent and the Rainbow / Sssssss) (2011)
Actor: Artist Not Provided
Release Year: 2011
Date: 7/4/2011 5:25 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

4 MOVIE MARATHON:CULT HORROR COLLECTION (THE FUNHOUSE/PHANTASM 2/THE SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW/SSSSSSS)

I usually avoid these collections, but this one was pretty good! The main draws for me were THE SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW and SSSSS.

With the all consuming zombie craze and I have to admit, I LOVE ZOMBIES, THE SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW(1988) by Wes Craven was great! The mood, the background and cast made the movie so creepy. A doctor goes to Haiti just before the fall of Baby Doc, in hopes of finding the drug that is used in zombie practice. Of course this doesn't set well with the locals.

SSSSS(1972) was a movie from my childhood that absolutely scared the crap out of me. Now that I know the actors were using real live snakes, no props for them, it still manages to scare me! A doctor who specializes in exotic snakes is turning his assistants into king cobras. Extremely cool!

THE FUNHOUSE(1981) was done by Tobe Hooper based upon a book of the same name by Dean Koontz. I had high hopes for this one, given its immpressive pedigree, but it never really clicked for me. A group of teenagers decide to hide in a carnival ride which sounds like fun, until they witness a murder by one of the freaks.

PHANTASM 2 is a cult favorite, but I think I didn't get it, mainly because I haven't seen the original PHANTASM which I've heard is great! Still, it was pretty cool watching the flying orbs of death.

So, to sum it up, THE SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW and SSSSS are definitely worth the dvd. If you're a fan of Tobe Hooper and PHANTASM, check out the other two films.

Review Date: 7/4/2011
50 Dead Men Walking
50 Dead Men Walking (2010)
Actors: Jim Sturgess, Sir Ben Kingsley, Rose McGowan
Release Year: 2010
Date: 3/6/2011 11:34 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

50 DEAD MEN WALKING was an interesting exercise for me. While growing up, I always recall hearing "the troubles in Ireland" on the news and being discussed. I didn't understand what was going on and I'm still puzzled. But then, I'm always at a loss when it comes to the religious fanatics who seem driven to kill in the name of God.

While surrounded by violence, a young man, Martin has stayed pretty much out of the frenzy that consumates his mates. Ultimately, he is recruited by the IRA and a short while later, he becomes an informant, trying to save lives. And save lives he does. So much so that he eventually becomes a target of his own people.

50 DEAD MEN WALKING is based on a true story and the young man, Martin is in protection and has to move monthly to avoid IRA retaliation, even now. He never sees his family. But his sacrifice saved 50 men marked for death by the IRA.

50 DEAD MEN WALKING is an excellent movie, one that will leave the viewer a little shaken. What price is too high? Where do you draw the line between saving others or your own? This movie should definitely be seen and it's so sad that it drew so little attention when released.

50 DEAD MEN WALKING. Heroism comes at a price.

Review Date: 3/6/2011
Alien Raiders
Alien Raiders (2009)
Actors: Derek Basco, Rockmond Dunbar, Carlos Bernard
Release Year: 2009
Date: 10/10/2010 9:34 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wow!! This is it, this is the shit!! I'd heard some buzz about ALIEN RAIDERS, but I took it with a grain of salt. But ladies and gentlemen, this is the best scifi/horror hybrid I've seen in many, many a moon!! Carlos Bernard (24)is the only star that I recognized and he is awesome! The story is this, a supermarket is taken hostage. Only they don't want money. Something is lurking in the store. Something evil. Something hungry.

I know I sound like a little kid gushing about ALIEN RAIDERS, but that's just how good it is. So what are you waiting for!! Run out and see ALIEN RAIDERS!! This baby rocks!!

Review Date: 10/10/2010
The Alphabet Killer
The Alphabet Killer (2009)
Actors: Eliza Dushku, Cary Elwes, Timothy Hutton
Release Year: 2009
Date: 11/30/2010 11:54 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

THE ALPHABET KILLER is a compelling piece that is based on true events. Megan is a detective working on the murder of a little girl and she soon begins to see connections in the case. Unfortunately, she can't quite put the pieces together and suffers a breakdown. And it's there that the movie takes an even darker turn, if that's possible.

Megan is diagnosed as a schizophrenic which results in losing her reputation, her fiancee and much of her freedom. Yet she still can't let go of the case. And two years later when another murder occurs, Megan begins a downward spiral in her disease, sparking a race to solve the murders before she loses her grip on reality.

THE ALPHABET KILLER was very intense and it had a couple twists and turns that I didn't see coming. But my favorite aspect of the film was it's realistic portrayal of a mentally ill person who wasn't a killer, who wasn't a threat to anyone (except themselves) and was desperately trying to hold on to her life, and in that process, to save the lives of as many children as she can.

If you want an excellent story with an interesting slant to the lead character, try on THE ALPHABET KILLER. For me, it was a good fit!


Review Date: 11/30/2010
Altered
Altered (2006)
Actors: Misty Rosas, Paul McCarthy-Boyington, Brad William Henke
Release Year: 2006
Date: 10/12/2010 12:06 ET
2 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

Let's just cut the crap. ALTERED is nothing short of amazing! And the fact that it came from one of THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT creators, well that just means TBWP wasn't a one time fluke. The premise of ALTERED is a group of friends who were abducted ten years ago are trolling the badlands for one of the aliens that kidnapped them. These are not the E.T., warm and fuzzy aliens. No, these are bad, real bad. About as bad as it can get. ALTERED hits the ground running and doesn't let up until the mindnumbing conclusion. I can't understand why this didn't make a mint at the box office. I hope it receives the acclaim it deserves on DVD.

So stop listening to me, folks!! Run, don't walk and watch ALTERED. I'll never look at those crazy stories in the tabloids the same way again.

And watch out for those killer mental death rays. They're a bitch.

Review Date: 10/12/2010
An American Crime
An American Crime (2008)
Actors: Ellen Page, Hayley McFarland, Catherine Keener
Release Year: 2008
Date: 1/30/2011 2:18 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

AN AMERICAN CRIME is extremely disturbing, one of the most terrifying movies I've ever seen because it's based on actual events. The trial is taken from existing court transcripts, another bone-chilling moment as the children matter of factily testify to the commonplace torture in their household. AN AMERICAN CRIME is a portrait of the depths of a inhuman soul and her actions to a young innocent.

Gertrude Baniszewski is boarding two young girls, Jennie and Sylvia for $20 a week. Their parents are carnival workers who didn't want their children traveling across the country without a stable home life. What a horrific mistake they made.

After Gertrude creates a false scenario in her mind about Sylvia, the abuse starts and then escalates dramatically. Beatings with a strap, a rape with a bottle ultimately lead to Sylvia's imprisonment in the basement.

One of the more chilling moments in the film was the way Gertrude involved her seven children, even Sylvia's own sister, Jennie, in the day to day torture of Sylvia. Why did they do it? Why did the neighbors who obviously heard the routine screaming coming from that den of horrors, choose to ignore the child's pitiful cries?

AN AMERICAN CRIME is hard to watch. Scenes are truly sickening, but even more so when considering the event they were taken from. The movie will stay with you for a long, long time. AN AMERICAN CRIME forces one to look at the monster that very well being living next door.

Review Date: 1/30/2011
The Beast
The Beast (2001)
Actors: George Dzundza, Jason Patric, Steven Bauer
Release Year: 2001
Date: 1/18/2011 11:15 ET
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

THE BEAST is an example of the utter waste of war. The lives that are lost and the insanity that drives some men to slaughter the innocent.

In the late 80's, a Russian tank is lost in the middle of Afghan terrority. Their only advantage, aside from the sheer bulk of the tank, is an Afghan interpreter. He provides a wealth of information and aids them in their destruction of an Afghan village.

Thus begins the animosity between the tank captain and a disillusioned driver. The war between the two explodes into violence when the captain murders the Afghan interpreter for no apparent reason than his own twisted satisfaction.

THE BEAST captures the hopelessness and the fear of the Russian soldiers. The bleak knowledge that anyone and anything can be used as an instrument of destruction. Blind and meaningless destruction that leaves no winners.

THE BEAST is a fine action filled movie that also asks a little more than most standard fare. THE BEAST asks you to think.

Review Date: 1/18/2011
Borderland - After Dark Horror Fest
Borderland - After Dark Horror Fest (2008)
Actors: Brian Presley, Jake Muxworthy, Rider Strong
Release Year: 2008
Date: 11/27/2010 3:49 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wow! BORDERLAND took me totally by surprise!! I was expecting a gorefest, which there is an abundance of gore, but there's also an intelligent story as well. Who would have thunk it?

BORDERLAND is the tale of three friends going to Mexico for one last hurray before setting off for college. Naturally, things go horribly wrong. Horribly. Wrong.

BORDERLAND scared the s@#$ out of me. There is a disclaimer at the beginning and the ending that the movie is based on true events. I don't know if that is true, but if so, God help us all. The possibility of human monsters among us scares me more than anything supernatural horror that could come from the mind of Stephen King or Clive Barker. The possibility of the monster living next door, unseen, that terrifies me.

I definitely recommend BORDERLAND. It's intense, raw and cruel. It also made me look deep inside myself. I can think of precious few films that have ever done that.

Stay safe, away from the border.

Review Date: 11/27/2010
Braveheart
Braveheart (2004)
Release Year: 2004
Date: 10/14/2010 12:23 ET
7 of 7 member(s) found this review helpful.

BRAVEHEART, ummmm....

After the massive assault of bad press for Mel Gibson, I wasn't sure if I could fairly watch or review this movie. My fears were in vain. BRAVEHEART is magnificent. The scenery is sooo amazing and the sheer scope of the film was amazing. It's almost unbelievable to me that Mr. Gibson not only starred, but directed the film as well. His Oscar was certainly well deserved.

The battle scenes are brutal, gory and probably an accurate view of what war was really like in the 12th century. War is horrible, but in this case, neccessary. The English king Longshanks was a bloody tyrant and the Scottish people suffered horribly underneath his reign. With the Scots being clearly outnumbered, it's a tribute to their strength and tenacity that their freedom was won.

So, BRAVEHEART is a wonderful way to spend your time. It's a beautiful, spiritual film. Something that rarely comes along from Hollywood. Don't miss it!

Review Date: 10/14/2010
The Broken
The Broken (2009)
Actors: Lena Headey, Ulrich Thomsen, Melvil Poupaud
Release Year: 2009
Date: 3/22/2011 3:09 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

THE BROKEN was a good time. Why does it seem that British horror has it more together than American? I think we should pack up and go overseas where the horror is taken more seriously.

Lena Heady (shout out, I loved her in THE SARAH CONNOR CHRONICLES) is a radiologist who has the perfect family, the perfect boyfriend and the perfect career. She has it all. Until one day when she sees herself driving by. Understandable, she is quite upset, but when she wakes up in the hospital, a victim of a head-on collision, things get really weird.

To say any more would spoil the fun. THE BROKEN doesn't rely on special effects to carry the movie. What it does have is a cohesive story line that blends together to a satisfying conclusion that I didn't see coming.

So, check out THE BROKEN. It's a good time.

Just stay out of the attic.

Review Date: 3/22/2011
Carriers
Carriers (2009)
Actors: Christopher Pine, Piper Perabo, Lou Taylor Pucci
Release Year: 2009
Date: 9/29/2010 9:27 ET
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

Yes, the world is ending...again. The hook this time is a little different. CARRIERS never really explains the how or why, the simplest explanation is everyone is either dead or dying.

Two brothers, and their girlfriends have packed up and are on a road trip to outrun death. When they were younger, their favorite vacation spot was at the beach, so their logic is let's go there.

I know this doesn't sound very interesting, but it is. The actors carry (bad pun)this film. The relationships or lack there of, is heartbreaking and they make you feel that hope is almost there. They make you want to believe so badly that if you follow the rules, you will live to see another day.

And there are rules.

CARRIERS is a big thumbs up for me. It's intensity captured my interest and held me spellbound throughout the movie. If you're looking for special effects or lots of action sequences, this isn't your movie. But if you want to see and feel emotion, sometimes dark emotion, CARRIERS will deliver this in spades.

Review Date: 9/29/2010
The Chair
The Chair (2008)
Actors: Michael Capellupo, Alanna Chisholm, Lauren Roy
Release Year: 2008
Date: 10/16/2010 10:14 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

THE CHAIR, this is proof that low-budget doesn't always might low quality. The story starts deceitfully slow and builds into an original powerhouse of a movie!! I wasn't surprised to see that the director also did GINGER SNAPS 2, another great horror film. He also brought that level of skill to this film, as well.

At the turn of the century, a mesmerizer, Mordecai Zymytryk captures the soul of the murderer of his grandson by placing him in a trance of torment that lasts throughout eternity.

Enter into the present. Pretty Danielle moves into Mordecai's house and strange things seem to follow her. Or do they? Danielle has a history of instability and has stopped taking her meds. And then things get seriously bad.

THE CHAIR wasn't a gory shocker, but it shocked me, nonetheless. The lead actress is amazing. The subtle shifts in personality that she uses is remarkable and very effective. Also, the final twist came out of nowhere and was quite satisfying.

So, give THE CHAIR a try. It's original, fresh horror and how often can one make that claim? And make others believe it?

Review Date: 10/16/2010
THE COLLECTOR {DVD} 2010
THE COLLECTOR {DVD} 2010 (0)
Date: 3/8/2011 4:42 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

WOW!! THE COLLECTOR is the real deal, my friends. There are very few times that I watch a movie and I'm genuinely unnerved by the prospect of turning off the lights and facing the darkness. Well, THE COLLECTOR did that!!

Arkin is a handyman that is in a very bad bind. His ex-wife is in debt to a loan shark and the deadline of that debt is midnight. In desperation, he decides to rob the house that he had just finished working on. The occupants are supposed to on vacation for 2 weeks, so a simple in and out. Right?

Wrong. Soon after entering the house, Arkin discovers that someone else has beat him to it. Someone deadly, and who kills without remorse.

I don't want to reveal any more of the plot. That would be cruel. I'll just say prepare yourself for a rollercoast ride of terror that provides a good solid punch to the gut, stealing your breath away.

Yeah, THE COLLECTOR is just that good!! Run, don't walk to get your copy!!

Review Date: 3/8/2011
Conjurer
Conjurer (2008)
Actors: Tom Nowicki, John Schneider, Maxine Bahns
Release Year: 2008
Date: 10/16/2010 12:00 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

CONJURER was a pleasant surprise! The cover art was creepy enough, but I've been enticed to buy a DVD with cool cover art and then the movie sucked the big one. But CONJURER really worked. It had some eerie images and a sinister tone that remained consistent throughout the film.

The plot--Shawn's wife experiences a stillbirth and is traumatized by the event. Although he can't afford the move, they pack up and head for the country. His rich brother-in-law has bought a house for them to live in, complete with a spooky old cabin in the backyard.
The previous owner introduces them to the house and he seems eager, a little too eager for the sell.

CONJURER has some chilling moments and not one, but two killer twists at the end. All in all, CONJURER was a very haunting little gem! One that will keep you guessing till the final frame.

Review Date: 10/16/2010
Conspiracy
Conspiracy (2008)
Actors: Val Kilmer, Gary Cole, Jennifer Esposito
Release Year: 2008
Date: 3/24/2011 9:19 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

CONSPIRACY is a kick-ass, good time!! Val Kilmer, Spooky, is a Desert Storm vet dealing with PTSD after being injured in a particularly grisly fashion. Recuperating in the hospital, he becomes close with Miguel, another member of his platoon that was also injured.

Once the war is over, Miguel goes to Arizona and hopes to reunite with his wife and son. He calls Spooky and asks him to join them and help him work on his ranch. But when Spooky gets there, it's as if Miguel never existed. Then the fun begins.

Val Kilmer does a great job as the quiet hero and Gary Cole does what he does best, chew up the scenery as a terrific villain. Add in a little Jennifer Esposito and you've got a butt kicking, guns blaring, wild ride!!

So, take a chance on CONSPIRACY. You won't be disappointed.

Just beware of pissing off the one legged soldier man!!

Review Date: 3/24/2011
Daisy Chain
Daisy Chain (2010)
Actors: Samantha Morton, Steven Mackintosh, Mhairi Anderson
Release Year: 2010
Date: 11/5/2010 12:36 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I don't understand why DAISY CHAIN has received such bad reviews. Granted, it's not a fast paced gore fest. But I found DAISY CHAIN to be very intriguing, lyrical and haunting.

Martha and Tomas have lost a baby, Chloe and now Martha is pregnant again. Understandably, Martha is very fragile mentally, so the couple have moved to the country to get away from the stress of living in London.

While moving into their new home, Martha meets one of the neighborhood children, Daisy and it's apparent that something isn't quite right with the child. But is it autism or simply child abuse. Martha witnesses Daisy's grandfather hurl a rock at the child's head and later discovers the child lives in a shed away from the house.

Everyone thinks that Daisy is a changeling, a fairy child that brings bad luck to everyone. And some are ready to kill her in order to remove the threat.

The story is heartbreaking and Daisy is at once, menacing and haunting. How horrible would it be to be shunned by all and no one to answer your pleas of "Play with me".

DAISY CHAIN is not without it's faults but, the ending is chilling. If you want a taste of something different, something that will tug at your heart while prickling the hair at the back of your neck, then settle in THE DAISY CHAIN.

Review Date: 11/5/2010
Dark Floors
Dark Floors (2008)
Actors: William Hope, Ronald Pickup, Leon Herbert
Release Year: 2008
Date: 11/14/2010 7:20 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

DARK FLOORS is an effective mix of disturbing images and themes. An autistic girl is undergoing tests at a hospital as her anxious father looks on. The test is a simple CAT scan, but seems to trigger pain in Sarah which opens a parallel dimension where the only inhabitants are a security guard, a nurse, the father and daughter and a hospital visitor. Everyone else has vanished.

And then, things go to hell.

My take on this and I could be wrong, is this--could the film maker been trying to use the deserted hospital and it's monsters as the symbol of the child's autism? We don't know what is locked away inside an autistic child's mind, what demons they endure. Perhaps this was Sarah's journey to reach the real world and escape the traps that her autistic mind had set. I know I may be overreaching here, but this was my take on DARK FLOORS.

DARK FLOORS are dark, indeed. Especially if the darkness is inside you.

Review Date: 11/14/2010
Dead Meat
Dead Meat (2005)
Actors: Marian Araujo, David Muyllaert, Eoin Whelan
Release Year: 2005
Date: 11/12/2010 12:38 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

DEAD MEAT is one of the latest entries in the FANGORIA'S GOREZONE and there be gore o'plenty here!! There are zombies, zombies, zombies! And the heroes kill them in various horrific ways that leave the blood and guts a'spurtin'.

I really can't say much about the plot or the characters because they really didn't serve any purpose except to kill the zombies. If zombies are your thing, this film would be the one for you. However, if you like a story with your images of the undead, this might not be your cup of tea.

So, if you're willing to check your brain at the dead, here's DEAD MEAT.

Review Date: 11/12/2010
Dead Wood
Dead Wood (2009)
Actors: Fergus March, Emily Juniper, John Samuel Worsey
Release Year: 2009
Date: 9/27/2010 8:06 ET
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

I was prepared to be a hard nosed, bored horror buff, ready to pounce on a weak, color by numbers silly mess. But DEAD WOOD is a really good British horror film. Although it's obvious from the getgo this is a low budget production, low budget doesn't always make it a bad thing. The premise is a horror staple--two couples decide to go camping in the woods, but then there is a twist. A lone girl stumbles into camp and asks for help finding her boyfriend who has disappeared in the woods. Then everything quickly falls apart.

DEAD WOOD doesn't have lots of gore or lots of fancy CGI effects, but what it does have is a good story, a consistent plotline and a great deal of tension, fright and suspense. If you want a horror video with some meat to it, something that will make you think, check out DEAD WOOD.

The forest is dark. Very dark

Review Date: 9/27/2010
Deliverance
Deliverance (2004)
Actors: Jon Voight, Burt Reynolds, Ned Beatty
Release Year: 2004
Date: 1/3/2011 11:07 ET
5 of 5 member(s) found this review helpful.

DELIVERANCE is amazing. Nearly forty years have passed and it still packs a powerful punch to the gut. Could this movie be made today? In spite of the "torture porn" style that seems to be the current trend of horror, I really don't think so. In this era of political correctness, the vicious sexual assault would probably never see the light of day.

Ed, Drew, Bobby and Lewis have headed into the Georgia mountains for an adventure and a bit of male bonding, but what they find is a descent into terror. Ed and Bobby become separated from the others and are brutally assaulted by two of the most heinous mountain men to ever grace the screen. Interrupting the rape, Lewis kills one of the attackers, unfortunately giving the other man a chance to escape.

And then the movie really begins to shine. The characters evolve and go in directions that you won't see coming. The pace is nothing short of break neck speed and by the end of the film, you'll truly be breathless.

DELIVERANCE is a classic that should be required viewing by anyone with directorial aspirations. Don't miss it. This is a piece of cinematic history that is to be savored.

Just don't forget your life jacket.

Review Date: 1/3/2011
Doomsday (Unrated Widescreen Edition)
Doomsday (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (2008)
Actors: Rhona Mitra, Malcolm McDowell
Release Year: 2008
Date: 10/14/2010 12:35 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

DOOMSDAY

The world is ending...

Again.

But this time, it's so much rocking fun that it feels fresh!! To me, Neil Marshall is a bloody genius (Dog Soldiers, The Descent) and I'd just about watch grass grow if he was at the helm directing it. The movie is cast perfectly. Rhona Mitra is a total bad ass. You DON'T want to piss her off! And she commands this movie with perfection.

Also great was Bob Hoskins. Where have you been, Bob? He always makes for a believable character. And Malcolm McDowell was over the top, as always!!

I absolutely loved DOOMSDAY! It was bloody, gory to the extreme and oddly touching. And you have to love a villainess with Celtic facial tattoos!!

So, check out DOOMSDAY. You're missing an awesome, gooey treat!!

Review Date: 10/14/2010
Dorothy Mills
Dorothy Mills (2009)
Actors: Carice van Houten, Jenn Murray, David Wilmot
Release Year: 2009
Date: 10/15/2010 1:30 ET
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

Forget everything that you think you know about DOROTHY MILLS.

You know nothing.

Dorothy has been accused of nearly strangling a baby in her care. Enter Jane, the court appointed psychologist sent to evaluate her mental state. I don't want to say any more and ruin the twists, curves and flat out blind sides this film delivers.

DOROTHY MILLS is fascinating, haunting, creepy. On certain levels, it reminded me of THE WICKER MAN. No, not that horrible remake with Nicholas Cage. The stunning original 1973 WICKER MAN. The isolation of the island and the pagan images during the dance evolved that whispful quality of THE WICKER MAN.

Everything about this story works. The characters, the setting, the twist within a twist within a twist. DOROTHY MILLS is like a Russian puzzle box. You think you know where you're going and there you are, inside another box.

I can't recommend DOROTHY MILLS enough! Just be prepared to lose the next couple hours and be mesmerized. It's nothing short of breathtaking.

Review Date: 10/15/2010
Eight Below (Full Screen Edition)
Eight Below (Full Screen Edition) (2006)
Actors: Paul Walker, Jason Biggs, Bruce Greenwood
Release Year: 2006
Date: 4/20/2011 1:34 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

OK, I admit it. I'm a sap. And there is no 12 step program for it, because my family would surely pack my bags and shuttle me off for the program.

I don't dole out 5 stars very often, but EIGHT BELOW is just wonderful. Paul Walker, Jason Biggs and Moon Bloodgood are great friends and the best at what they do as part of a science station in Antarctica. Paul Walker is a guide who relies upon his team of sled dog huskies and has a special relationship with the dogs. They're his babies!

After an accident on the ice, the station must be evacuated for medical attention for two of the team. They are forced to leave the beloved dogs behind to face the horrors of an Antarctica winter with no supplies.

Will the dogs survive in the wild? When the Walker crew make it back before the dogs die? Will Deidra ever drop her box of Puffs and stop sobbing in front of the movie screen?

EIGHT BELOW is amazing. The story is simple enough for the whole family to see, but with enough adult banter to entice the parents. And the doggies!! They're so cute!! You gotta see this movie!!

Review Date: 4/20/2011
Elsewhere
Elsewhere (2009)
Actors: Anna Kendrick, Paul Wesley, Jeff Phillips
Release Year: 2009
Date: 1/16/2011 7:42 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

ELSEWHERE is the story of a little girl lost. Several of them, actually. Girls that no one ever misses or if they do, consider it a blessing that they're gone.

How often does this really happen? There are always (unfortunately)fliers on windows and poles for missing children, but what about the unknown ones who have lost their way, never to find the love they were so desperately seeking?

ELSEWHERE tells us about one such girl, Jillian and her loyal best friend, Sarah. She smokes too much, dresses too provocatively, and is considered by all who know her, a bad seed. Even her best friend is shocked when Jillian reveals her alter identity as Dirtygurl, a cyberslut flirts and teases men online with barely there photos of her body.

Then Jillian goes missing and no one seems to care...except Sarah.

Vampire fans rejoice for Anna Kendrick of TWILIGHT and Paul Wesley (THE VAMPIRE DIARIES) lock in good, solid performances.

ELSEWHERE is gripping, taut and very thought provoking.

Would anyone miss us if we lost our way?

Review Date: 1/16/2011
1 to 25 of 100 - Page: