DIANE M.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 14 of 14
CELTIC THUNDER:THE SHOW
CELTIC THUNDER:THE SHOW (0)
Date: 11/18/2012 12:32 ET

This is the first dvd for this group who are totally awesome! All the guys in the group have their own style, their own look and their own personality yet blend their voices in wonderful harmony. They can sing anything from Celtic music, show tunes, pop, country, folk, to gospel. They not only sing as a group but their solos and duets are great too. It is a very entertaining dvd that I watch over and over and never get tired of listening to.If you are a music lover, I would definitely give this group a try.

Review Date: 11/18/2012
Crossfire Trail
Crossfire Trail (2001)
Actors: Tom Selleck, Virginia Madsen, Wilford Brimley
Release Year: 2001
Date: 3/3/2012 5:42 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

I agree with what the others have said. Tom Selleck is wonderful as the hero of this old time Western story. The other cast members, especially Wilford Brimley, do a great job also. The scenery is awesome.

Review Date: 3/3/2012
The Departed (Widescreen Edition)
The Departed (Widescreen Edition) (2007)
Actors: Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson
Release Year: 2007
Date: 11/28/2009 7:26 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is a fast paced exciting movie about organized crime so expect lots of violence. The cast is excellent!

Review Date: 11/28/2009
Elf (Infinifilm Edition)
Elf (Infinifilm Edition) (2004)
Actors: Will Ferrell, Edward Asner, Bob Newhart
Release Year: 2004
Date: 11/30/2009 6:55 ET
3 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is a sweet and funny holiday movie that is fun for the whole family. Will Ferrell is at his best.

Review Date: 11/30/2009
Groundhog Day
Groundhog Day (2001)
Actors: Bill Murray, Andie MacDowell, Chris Elliott
Release Year: 2001
Date: 11/10/2009 7:50 ET
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is by far, my favorite Bill Murray movie. He is great in it as well as Andie MacDowell and the rest of the cast. It never fails to make me laugh every time I watch it and is one of my family's all-time favorite comedies.

Review Date: 11/10/2009
Home for the Holidays
Home for the Holidays (2001)
Actors: Holly Hunter, Anne Bancroft, Robert Downey Jr.
Release Year: 2001
Date: 11/30/2009 6:50 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is a story of a family coming together for one Thanksgiving with all their different personalities clashing. It is very funny but also contains some sweet and touching moments too. The whole cast is perfect. With Anne Bancroft, Charles Durning, Robert Downey Jr., Holly Hunter, Dylan McDermott, and Clare Dane and great writing, it couldn't miss. And Geraldine Chaplin as the eccentric Aunt Gladys is hilarious. A really good original movie--not to be missed.

Review Date: 11/30/2009
Monster (Special Edition)
Monster (Special Edition) (2005)
Actors: Charlize Theron, Christina Ricci, Bruce Dern
Release Year: 2005
Date: 11/30/2009 7:18 ET

Charlize Theron gives a fascinating and top notch performance in this drama as a true life rough and brutal serial killer. It certainly proves she has serious talent as an accomplished actress. Yes, some of the scenes are disturbing and violent but this is a movie not to be missed. Excellent!

Review Date: 11/30/2009
Mr. & Mrs. Smith (Full Screen Edition)
Mr. & Mrs. Smith (Full Screen Edition) (2005)
Actors: Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Adam Brody
Release Year: 2005
Date: 11/30/2009 7:28 ET
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Action, romance and comedy all rolled into one! Great movie to watch again and again. I would love to see a sequel.

Review Date: 11/30/2009
Nothing But Trouble
Nothing But Trouble (1998)
Actors: Chevy Chase, Dan Aykroyd, John Candy
Release Year: 1998
Date: 11/10/2009 3:08 ET
3 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

NOTHING BUT TROUBLE? It should have been titled NOTHING BUT STUPID-- a total waste of time viewing it. With Chevy Chase, Dan Aykroyd, John Candy and Demi Moore, it should have been good but it was very disappointing to say the least!

Review Date: 11/10/2009
The Quiet Man (Collector's Edition)
The Quiet Man (Collector's Edition) (2002)
Actors: John Wayne, Maureen O'Hara, Leonard Maltin
Release Year: 2002
Date: 11/30/2009 7:40 ET
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

While John Wayne is more known for his Westerns and War movies, I think this is my favorite of all his movies. It is a different John Wayne--an ex-boxer going to live in Ireland and meeting the love of his life played by beautiful Maureen O'Hara. This is a warm, sweet and funny romance with plenty of Ireland's beautiful scenery that I can watch over and over. The story is enriched by many of the Duke's old sidekicks like Victor McLaglen and Ward Bond and Barry Fitzgerald. A true classic directed by John Ford! Sorry, I won't be posting my copy. It is a permanent fixture on my keeper shelf.

Review Date: 11/30/2009
A Raisin in the Sun
A Raisin in the Sun (2000)
Actors: Sidney Poitier, Claudia McNeil, Ruby Dee
Release Year: 2000
Date: 1/26/2010 2:50 ET

This drama has been done several times over the years but none come close to this powerful and riveting original version. The excellent cast is a strong one headed by Claudia McNeil, Sidney Poitier and Ruby Dee. If you haven't seen it, you are missing a great movie. A true classic!

Review Date: 1/26/2010
Unconditional Love
Unconditional Love (2004)
Actors: Kathy Bates, Rupert Everett, Meredith Eaton
Release Year: 2004
Date: 11/27/2009 11:12 ET
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

I happened upon this gem one night on cable tv. I like Kathy Bates, Rupert Everett and Dan Ackroyd so I thought I would give it a try. I am so glad that I did. This movie was so entertaining yet hard to describe. I guess it could be considered a comedy/drama with the emphasis on comedy but it was also part murder mystery too. Oh, you could also add a dash of inspiration and music. The cast was excellent. Kathy Bates and Rupert Everett were at their best. (Everett claims this is his favorite role.) And Meredith Eaton, who is a beautiful dwarf in real life, steals the scenes as Bates' wise-cracking dwarf daughter in law. The story starts out with Kathy Bates being dumped by her husband, Dan Ackroyd and then also finding out that her favorite British male singer(Tom Jones type) has been murdered by a serial killer and she decides to travel to London to go to his funeral. Okay, that is the drama part. After that, the comedy kicks in and it is fun for the rest of the movie. The story is very original with many twists and turns and even more laughs. It is a perfect blend of American and British humor. If you are tired of the comedies that are full of stupid tasteless jokes and gross humor and want something more to entertain you, I recommend this one. It was unpredictable and fascinating.

Review Date: 11/27/2009
Victory
Victory (1998)
Actors: Michael Caine, Sylvester Stallone, Pelé
Release Year: 1998
Date: 10/17/2009 1:44 ET
2 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

This could have been a great movie--- Sylvester Stallone and Michael Caine with John Huston directing. But I thought it was an unrealistic look at wartime prison camps. For one thing the housing looked brand new, they had several changes of freshly laundered clothes,had good food and were cleanly shaven and showered and the Germans for the most part treated them well. Not only that but it seemed that all the prisoners did all day was play soccer and the ones that weren't playing were freely given time to intermingle with the officers to figure out ways to escape. For that reason, it was a bit hard to get into the movie. For me, it was somewhat like Hogan's Heroes. They had all the items needed to fake passports including a homemade camera. They shared using a suit coat and white shirt to make the passports look legit. Now where do you suppose they got those? Other than that, the movie was good with exciting action scenes.

Review Date: 10/17/2009
Wanted: Dead or Alive - Season Two
Wanted: Dead or Alive - Season Two (2007)
Actor: Steve McQueen
Release Year: 2007
Date: 2/13/2010 9:03 ET

An enjoyable look at a classic western tv series. A must see for a Steve McQueen fan.

Review Date: 2/13/2010
1 to 14 of 14