Search - Sounds Magnificent (The Story of the Symphony) - Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 (Pathetique) / Previn, RPO on DVD

Sounds Magnificent (The Story of the Symphony) - Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 (Pathetique) / Previn, RPO
Sounds Magnificent - Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 / Previn RPO
The Story of the Symphony
Actors: Andre Previn, RPO
Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Educational, Musicals & Performing Arts, Documentary
NR     2000     1hr 27min

In this fascinating series of films, Sounds Magnificent: The Story of the Symphony, Andre Previn conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in some of the most popular works from the concert repertoire--symphonies by Mozart...  more »


Larger Image

Movie Details

Actors: Andre Previn, RPO
Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Educational, Musicals & Performing Arts, Documentary
Sub-Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Educational, Classical, History
Studio: Image Entertainment
Format: DVD - Color
DVD Release Date: 08/01/2000
Original Release Date: 01/01/1984
Theatrical Release Date: 01/01/1984
Release Year: 2000
Run Time: 1hr 27min
Screens: Color
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaDVD Credits: 1
Total Copies: 0
Members Wishing: 0
Edition: Classical
MPAA Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Languages: English

Similar Movies

Sounds Magnificent - Brahms Symphony No 4 / Previn RPO
The Story of the Symphony
   NR   2000   1hr 25min
Sounds Magnificent - Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique / Previn RPO
The Story of the Symphony
   NR   2000   1hr 26min
Sounds Magnificent - Shostakovich Symphony No 5 / Previn RPO
The Story of the Symphony
   NR   2000   1hr 25min

Similarly Requested DVDs

Director: John Dahl
   R   1999   2hr 1min
The Fugitive
Director: Andrew Davis
   PG-13   2001   2hr 10min
Beyond the Sea
Director: Kevin Spacey
   PG-13   2005   1hr 58min
The Polar Express
Full Screen Edition
Director: Alan Silvestri
   G   2005   1hr 40min
Thank You for Smoking
Full Screen Edition
Director: Jason Reitman
   R   2006   1hr 32min
Special Edition
Director: Michael Moore
   PG-13   2007   2hr 3min
Director: Mark Obenhaus
   PG   2008   1hr 32min
   UR   2008   1hr 56min
Beverly Hills Chihuahua
Director: Raja Gosnell
   PG   2009   1hr 31min
Lady Gaga One Sequin at a Time
Director: Sonia Anderson
   NR   2010   1hr 3min

Movie Reviews

Sounds Not Magnificent
S. Customer | Atlanta, GA USA | 01/06/2001
(3 out of 5 stars)

"I've been collecting Karayan DVD's and I have all Beethoven Symphony DVD's of his. Finally I've got sick of all the same patterns of Video productions, so I tried Previn DVD's. At first, it was refreshing with detailed explanations about composer's life and the music by Andre Previn and with different setting (studio, not concert hall). However, I was really disappointed with the sound which was so poor that I thought the music was from cassette tape. And the volume is only one third of Karayan's which has superb audio quality as compared with Previn's. I don't know how they made this DVDs, but if they want to appeal to music lovers, they should do something special to improve the audio quiality. Well, if you want to learn music and composer's life, Previn's DVD would be a good bet, but if you just interested in listening to music with good sound quality, Previn's DVD would be a poor choice. What is music DVD for anyway?"
Magnificent Tchaikosvsky experience
Carlos E. Bauza | Puerto Rico | 08/14/2005
(5 out of 5 stars)

"These comments come from a music lover who is trained in subject matters different from music.
This installment in the series called "Sounds Magnificent: The History of the Symphony" provides much needed enlightenment and information!
For this particular symphony, Tchaikovsky seeks to convey the mood of his feelings about his own life. It is a "confessional" of sorts, which can be better understood and perceived with knowledge of the details of his own life.
The commentary by Mr. Previn is quite enlightening, and the chosen musical excerpts illustrate his points quite appropriately.
The sound itself is of real audiophile quality, conveying the depth and brilliance of this magnificent symphony. The use of the camera is thoughtfully planned to bring attention to the musical phrases.
The conducting by Mr. Previn is well attuned to the composition, in an impressive rendition of this piece, and the Orchestra plays with quite apparent focus and emotional response to the written score and conductor.
All in all, a very stimulating and educational experience to be enjoyed many times over."
Outstanding sound and commentary on a complex and emotionall
KerrLines | Baltimore,MD | 06/28/2007
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Having just attended an all Tchaikowsky concert last night, I was in the mood to revisit this exquisite and insightful commentary by Andre Previn on Peter Tchaikowsky.Tchaikowsky was "composer to the Czar" and enjoyed fame and position in upper-crust Russia. He was also a man who could never resolve with his homosexual nature.This plays a very important part in Tchaikowsky's musical output as a man who "wears his emotions on his shoulder." Previn's discussion is outstanding in teaching about the man and his musical genius. Previn so correctly asserts that Tchaikowsky was a "popular and tuneful" composer, so much so that this was one of the common criticisms of his work.To illustrate how Tchaikowsky uses his conflicted emotions, Previn deconstucts Symphony #6, the Pathetique (immense sorrow),and shows how Tchaikowsky uses his motifs to tell a story of untold sorrow.The Royal Philharmonic plays with great conviction at the 40 minute mark the entire symphony. This review concerns the KULTUR VHS version. The sound and the picture are OUTSTANDING.(Some people have commented that the dvd is not!)

An excellent companion film on the life of Tchaikowsky would be Ken Russel's 1970 THE MUSIC LOVERS with Richard Chamberlain and Glenda Jackson. THAT IS ONE RIVETING AND CONTROVERSIAL PIECE OF WORK!!!"