Search - Waldbuhne 2000 - Rhythm & Dance (Gershwin, Ravel, Sousa) / Nagano, Berlin Philharmonic on DVD

Waldbuhne 2000 - Rhythm & Dance (Gershwin, Ravel, Sousa) / Nagano, Berlin Philharmonic
Waldbuhne 2000 - Rhythm Dance / Nagano Berlin Philharmonic
Gershwin, Ravel, Sousa
Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Musicals & Performing Arts
NR     2001     2hr 8min

Under the motto "Rhythm and Dance," Kent Nagano created, with his combination of popular and rather unusual music from the 20th Century, one of the most exciting programs the Berlin Philharmonic ever played at the Waldbuhn...  more »

Larger Image

Movie Details

Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Musicals & Performing Arts
Sub-Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Classical
Studio: Image Entertainment
Format: DVD - Color
DVD Release Date: 11/20/2001
Original Release Date: 01/01/2000
Theatrical Release Date: 01/01/2000
Release Year: 2001
Run Time: 2hr 8min
Screens: Color
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaDVD Credits: 1
Total Copies: 1
Members Wishing: 0
Edition: Classical
MPAA Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Languages: English

Similar Movies

A Gershwin Night
   NR   2005   2hr 9min

Similarly Requested DVDs

   G   2007   1hr 51min
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Single-Disc Edition
Director: David Fincher
   PG-13   2009   2hr 46min
The Devil Wears Prada
Widescreen Edition
Director: David Frankel
   PG-13   2006   1hr 49min
Director: David Mamet
   R   2004   1hr 46min
Il Divo - Live at the Greek
   NR   2006   1hr 40min
Then She Found Me
Director: Helen Hunt
   R   2008   1hr 40min
Star Trek - Nemesis
Full Screen Edition
Director: Stuart Baird
   PG-13   2003   1hr 56min
BBC, 1972
   NR   2004   4hr 30min
The Prestige
Director: Christopher Nolan
   PG-13   2007   2hr 10min
Sex and the City - The Movie
Full Screen Edition
Director: Michael Patrick King
   R   2008   2hr 27min

Movie Reviews

Wrong Listing!
Maria Miller | Seattle WA United States | 12/10/2001
(3 out of 5 stars)

"Mercy, Mercy! Who writes those blurbs? No Sousa and no Nagano composition gets performed at the Waldbühne 2000.The composers are: Bernstein, Ravel, Matsushiba, Zhao Jiping and Gershwin. The name of the composer of the second percussion piece is not clear on the DVD case, so I leave it off instead of erring. The three star rating is for the stunning performance by the percussionist Eitetsu Hayashi, superbly supported by the Berlin Philharmonic, in what must have been an interesting experience for all musicians."
bill rigsby | amarillo, texas USA | 02/22/2002
(3 out of 5 stars)

"actualy, i was disapointed in this waldbuhne concert. the berlin
philharmonic is a popular show on sunday a.m., A&E's "breakfast
with the arts". i try to vcr record all of these concerts. this
one i did not have, so the dvd fit my waldbuhne library.
however, i could only give this dvd 3 stars, and that is very liberal grading. either susan graham was very weak, or the sound engineer missed it. the orchestra overpowered susan. also i'm
sure if you own this dvd when it comes to the japanese drums you
will fast forward after a few minutes. all the waldbuhne concerts
i have enjoyed were better than this one. Oh yes, where was sousa
as indicated amazon's title graphic."