Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Supernatural: Season 9
Supernatural: Season 9 (2014) NR
Actors: Jared Padalecki, Jensen Ackles, Misha Collins
Release Year: 2014

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 1/16/2017 4:21 AM
"A once great show has become very repetitive with the same characters and conflicts. Just boring at times and lacking the good music, darker episodes and great acting. If you are a fan, then it is a must watch but is not a keeper for us."


Supernatural:  The Complete Ninth Season (Blu-ray)
Supernatural:  The Complete Ninth Season (Blu-ray) (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 1/16/2017 4:21 AM
"A once great show has become very repetitive with the same characters and conflicts. Just boring at times and lacking the good music, darker episodes and great acting. If you are a fan, then it is a must watch but is not a keeper for us."


Me Before You (DVD)
Me Before You (DVD) (0)

Review by: Margaret E. (mde) - 1/16/2017 12:14 AM
"This was a very sweet love story with natural acting by all the top characters. If you like romantic love stories, you will enjoy this one."


Broken
Broken (2007) R
Directors: Adam Mason, Simon Boyes
Actors: Eric Colvin, Nadja Brand Mason, Abbey Stirling
Release Year: 2007

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 1/15/2017 8:50 PM
"This is a must see for the horror fan! I was surprised by the twist and turns, especially the ending."


Gray Matters
Gray Matters (2007) PG-13
Actors: Heather Graham, Thomas Cavanagh, Bridget Moynahan
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Wayne F. (WWIIpfc) - 1/15/2017 7:12 PM
"This Gray Matters DVD did not appeal to me. Probably it's too modern."


Bates Motel
Bates Motel (2013)
Director: Richard Rothstein
Actors: Bud Cort, Lori Petty, Moses Gunn
Release Year: 2013

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/15/2017 12:31 AM
"Front Cover
"


Phantasm: Remaster
Phantasm: Remaster (2016)
Actor: A. Michael Baldwin
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/15/2017 12:27 AM
"Front Cover
"


Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2016)
Director: J.J. Abrams
Actors: Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Nancy D. (lavalkry) - 1/14/2017 4:00 PM
"WARNING:
This is less a review more a bitch-fest. If you have yet to see the film and want to like it do not read this.
If, like me you Love episode 4-6; tolerate episode 1-3 because they are entertaining and you are looking forward to the next one so you can catch up with Luke, Leah and Han this might be of use to you.
This movie made me so mad my head all but exploded. Essentially, they took the script from A New Hope; shuffled the scenes, altered the characters to fit the new dynamic, gave them new names and added a few new players. Other than that, it’s the same damn movie.

1) A Jedi is hiding out. He blames himself for failing his apprentice
2) A droid holds information vital to the Alliance
3) A desert planet is searched to obtain the droid
4) A girl is sought and questioned in connection to the droid
5) The Hero wants no part of the girl’s quest but helps anyway
6) Han Solo can’t catch a break
7) The Alliance needs a Miracle to overcome an overwhelming weapon
8) A new Jedi comes into their powers
9) They have inside information
10) The Millennium Falcon has a bad motivator

Because I know Episodes 4-6 backward and forward the story was so predictable I knew exactly what would happen next (major Buzz Kill) and sat in the theater and ran dialogue with the actors. Which was fun at the time. But holy cow is script writing dead now?

Now for the main characters:

Rey – The orphan who apparently raised herself from the approximate age of five with crazy ninja fighting skills and who can out fly seasoned fighter pilots. How did she obtain these mad skills whilst scavenging in the unforgiving desert to pay for her daily meal?

Fin – The Hero (?) A lose compilation of the Han Solo character. Full of heart and drawn to the heroine despite his sincere desire to be elsewhere - right now due to the equivalent of a price on his head. He provides a lot of fun and most of the histrionics, but displays none of the characteristics necessary to fulfil the hero role until suddenly he is a tower of strength.

Han Solo – Oops we already have a Han Solo

Kylo Ren – Who I assume is supposed to be the dominant antagonist; is an EMO Darth Vader wanna-be with Daddy issues. And this one is inexcusable - They made me laugh at him. Not once but twice. In the moment, it was fun but let’s grab some reality (in so far as reality applies to fiction) How seriously can we take a villain who is the emotional equivalent of a toddler? His subordinates don’t even take him seriously. His parents say there is too much Vader in him. But all I see is Anakin - Episode 2; petulant and power hungry

Now lets talk about supporting characters

Princess Leah – What the Hell happened? Leah was supposed to grab Han by the epaulets and raise a brood of kids. Most of whom raised hell and frustrated their parents at every turn; while Maw and Paw Ketteling their way into the future. One kid? Estranged? And Leah stood for that? Not in my universe. Han would skip out occasionally, adrenalin junkie remember? but no force on earth can keep them apart for long.

Poe Dameron – I bring him up because he is (coincidentally?) another Solo-esque character. One who embodies the spirit of Han better than Fin does and who, frankly stole every scene he was in.

Admittedly I’m pissed off because they killed off Han Solo. But what really T’s me off is:

They killed Han Solo
The completely ripped off the storyline from A New Hope
They Killed Han Solo
And while they tacitly acknowledge that Han Solo is the best part of the franchise - they had THREE incarnations of him – The original, irreplaceable and endlessly endearing - Fin the un-willing hero who emotes with the best of them but makes a much better foil than primary - and Poe the dashing smart-mouthed pilot who could have convincingly pulled off the hero role but was inserted as ….uh idaknow the charmbag who takes a licking and keeps on ticking? And they killed Han off anyway. Morons! Now Who’s gonna lead?
And did I mention they killed Han Solo?

Now for the dilemma. OK, so the Death Star didn’t do enough damage fast enough to put down the pesky Rebel Scum. We’ll make it bigger, stronger, more destructive that it was before. The first one was too accessible let’s put this one on a planet build a big ‘ole world destroyer. Easy peasy right?

At some point I’m imagining a conversation something like this. As the resistance is obvious, only writer 2’s response’s are shown.

a) How do we power this mega-distructo machine? Duh we’ll harness the energy we create by exploding a nearby sun.
b) Whaddya mean that won’t work? Shut-up it’s in the script.
c) So what if the mega-distructo machine is obsolete after we blew up the nearby sun! The thing doesn’t have to actually work, IT’S A MOVIE! And Hel-lo the pesky rebels foil our demented …oops er dastardly plan anyway. Didn’t you see the storyboards? Sheese!

My advice? Skip this one and Go See “Rogue One”. It’s a stunning movie, everything I wanted and didn’t get from “The Force Awakens”. Go See Rogue One Now. You’ll be glad you did.
"


The Last Woman On Earth
The Last Woman On Earth (2002)
Director: Roger Corman
Actors: Antony Carbone, Betsy Jones-Moreland
Release Year: 2002

Review by: Mark D. - 1/14/2017 2:28 PM
"this version of LAST WOMAN ON EARTH, released by Vina, is the super rare color version. Just in case you want to add the "officially released" version to your collection."


The Universe: The Complete Season One
The Universe: The Complete Season One (2007) PG
Actor: The Universe
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 1/13/2017 12:55 PM
"Very informative and highly interesting program previously shown on the History Channel. Just the kind of entertainment to fill a long cold winter!"


Still Point In A Turning World: Ronald Reagan and his Ranch
Still Point In A Turning World: Ronald Reagan and his Ranch (2011)
Director: Stephen K. Bannon
Actor: Ronald Reagan
Release Year: 2011

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 1/13/2017 12:49 PM
"One off the best Presidents this country has ever seen! Ronald Reagan stepped up and helped bring this country back from some bad times and brought us hope again! My only complaint is this is far too short yet packs in lots of info and entertaining imagery of his ranch and lifestyle."


After the Harvest
After the Harvest (2003) NR
Actors: Marion Bennett, Alberta Watson, Sam Shepard
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Randal A. (Movieran) - 1/13/2017 5:42 AM
"A complex story. We are the villain for we identify more with head of the household who needs to control that which is beyond his control. Redemption only comes with recognition."


South Riding
South Riding (0)

Review by: Randal A. (Movieran) - 1/13/2017 5:37 AM
"Particularly refreshing, exposing the underlying passions of the human spirit. Only those who knew the class distinctions of British society would truly appreciate this series that was enacted so realistically."


The Ground Truth
The Ground Truth (2006) R
Director: Patricia Foulkrod
Actors: Herold Noel, Robert Acosta, Sean Huze
Release Year: 2006

Review by: Julia R. (julia) - 1/12/2017 11:04 PM
"The truth about taking on the role of soldier. I highly recommend it."


The Summer House
The Summer House (2015)
Director: Curtis Burz
Actors: Sten Jacobs, Anna Altmann, Jaspar Fuld
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 12:56 PM
"Front Cover
"


Cafe Society [Dvd + Digital]
Cafe Society [Dvd + Digital] (2016)
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 12:49 PM
"Front Cover
"


The Abduction of Zack Butterfield
The Abduction of Zack Butterfield (2014)
Director: Rick Lancaster
Actors: Brett Helsham, TJ Plunkett, Lisa Gunn
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 12:24 PM
"Front Cover
"


King Jack
King Jack (2016)
Director: Felix Thompson
Actors: Danny Flaherty, Charlie Plummer, Christian Madsen
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 12:21 PM
"Front Cover
"


Cub
Cub (2015)
Director: Jonas Govaerts
Actors: Maurice Luijten, Titus De Voogdt, Stef Aerts
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 12:18 PM
"Front Cover
"


Masterminds
Masterminds (2017)
Actors: Owen Wilson, Zach Galifianakis, Jason Sudeikis
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 11:39 AM
"Front Cover
"


Bad Santa 2
Bad Santa 2 (2017) R
Director: Mark Waters
Actors: Billy Bob Thornton, Kathy Bates, Tony Cox
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 11:36 AM
"Front Cover
"


The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance
The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance (2001) NR
Director: John Ford
Actors: James Stewart, John Wayne, Vera Miles
Release Year: 2001

Review by: Adam M. (redbaronredsoxfan) - 1/12/2017 11:31 AM
"movie wasn't one of John Wayne's or Jimmy Stewart's best. just not a movie the holds your attention, doesn't live up to hype. The Song by Gene Pitney is much better than the movie."


Loving
Loving (2017)
Director: Jeff Nichols
Actors: Joel Edgerton, Ruth Negga, Marton Csokas
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 11:29 AM
"Front Cover

"


The Ghost and Mr. Chicken [Blu-ray]
The Ghost and Mr. Chicken [Blu-ray] (2017) NR
Director: Alan Rafkin
Actors: Don Knotts, Joan Staley, Liam Redmond
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 8:04 AM
"Front cover

"


October Sky [Blu-ray]
October Sky [Blu-ray] (2017) PG
Director: Joe Johnston
Actors: Jake Gyllenhaal, Laura Dern, Chris Cooper
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 1/12/2017 8:03 AM
"Front cover - "