Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Mafia! / The Crew (Double Feature) [Blu-ray]
Mafia! / The Crew (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (2012) PG-13
Directors: Jim Abrahams, Michael Dinner
Actors: Jay Mohr, Christina Applegate, Lloyd Bridges
Release Year: 2012

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 12/16/2017 12:51 PM
"Fun in a twin pack of hilarious films about hit men and their clumsy antics! Lloyd Bridges steals the show in Mafia along with Christina Applegate and Jay Mohr making fun of a lot of classic movies from The Godfather to Forrest Gump!
The Crew deals with a foursome of old gangsters who still believe they can pull off one last "hit" stars Richard Dreyfuss, Burt Reynolds, Seymour Cassel, and Dan Hedaya along with companionship of Jennifer Tilly and Carrie-Ann Moss. So much fun it's practically illegal!"


Elf (Infinifilm Edition)
Elf (Infinifilm Edition) (2004) PG
Director: Jon Favreau
Actors: Will Ferrell, Edward Asner, Bob Newhart
Release Year: 2004

Review by: Tara C. - 12/16/2017 8:07 AM
"a great movie for Christmas & a good laugh."


The Orphanage
The Orphanage (2008) R
Director: Juan Antonio Bayona
Actors: Belén Rueda, Fernando Cayo, Roger Príncep
Release Year: 2008

Review by: April U. (Radar) - 12/15/2017 5:30 PM
"Well I wanted to watch this movie but I didn't notice it was in Spanish and I don't know Spanish and It won't let me change it so it's in English. And I don't want to sit there and try to read subtitles in the whole movie.
It would've been nice if you could change watching it to English or Spanish. but all you can do is turn subtitles on or off to English or Spanish. why do you want to turn on Spanish subtitles if it's already in Spanish. and you can't change the movie to English speaking?
I can't star rate it if I can't watch it to know if it was a good or bad movie."


Desert Winds
Desert Winds (2000) Unrated
Actors: Adam Ant, Heather Graham, Jessica Hamilton
Release Year: 2000

Review by: Linda T. - 12/14/2017 9:35 AM
"I must confess I watched this to see Adam Ant, in some listings he has top billing. That's quite inaccurate, he's only in one throwaway scene and has about four lines. Still worth watching, but not what I expected."


The Red Turtle
The Red Turtle (2017) PG
Director: Michael Dudok De Wit
Release Year: 2017

Review by: Schuylar L. (schuym1) - 12/13/2017 9:05 PM
"This movie is incredibly slow moving and dull. I know I'm in the minority with this opinion, but I love Studio Ghibli and this doesn't seem like one of their movies."


Millions
Millions (2005) PG
Director: Danny Boyle
Actors: Alex Etel, James Nesbitt, Daisy Donovan
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Lenny N. (Qsrasra) - 12/13/2017 2:37 PM
"This is a really sweet film. The two brothers roles are very well written - and acted. And I thoroughly enjoyed the deleted scenes. This was well worth my time!"


The Great St Louis Bank Robbery / Jail Bait
The Great St Louis Bank Robbery / Jail Bait (2005) NR
Director: Multi
Actors: Steve McQueen, Dolores Fuller
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 12/13/2017 12:31 PM
"Action packed early role for superstar Steve McQueen! Interesting older cars from the 50's are everywhere and the men usually wear hats and long overcoats! Fun!
Jail Bait is similar with period piece attire and interesting dialog!"


The Bodyguard (Special Edition)
The Bodyguard (Special Edition) (2005) R
Director: Mick Jackson
Actors: Kevin Costner, Whitney Houston, Gary Kemp
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Gloria B. - 12/13/2017 9:34 AM
"A great movie, when these stars were in their prime. Excellent music from an artist who is no longer around. What a voice."


Highway
Highway (2002) R
Director: James Cox
Actors: Jared Leto, Jake Gyllenhaal, Selma Blair
Release Year: 2002

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 12/12/2017 11:10 AM
"Take a wild ride up the west coast (California to Oregon) with two of movieland's most interesting young men (Jake Gyllenhaal and Jared Leto) with wild grunge music playing in the background. Fun and dangerous road trip plus the beautiful and sexy Selma Blair comes along for a ride."


80's Sci-Fi Double Feature: Krull/Spacehunter: Adventures in the Forbidden Zone
80's Sci-Fi Double Feature: Krull/Spacehunter: Adventures in the Forbidden Zone (2015) PG
Directors: Peter Yates, Lamont Johnson
Actors: Ken Marshall, Lysette Anthony, Liam Neeson
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Darin D. (zeeterman) - 12/12/2017 4:54 AM
"Great 80's flashback here! These 2 films are underrated and are very entertaining if you're a sci-fi fan."


Guilty Conscience
Guilty Conscience (2003) G
Director: David Greene
Actors: Anthony Hopkins, Blythe Danner, Swoosie Kurtz
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Will L. (wlinden) - 12/11/2017 1:38 PM
"Since the same reviews are attached to a number of releases (and I have no idea which listing you are reading), there is no way to tell that this particular one is cut."


Second Best
Second Best (2005) R
Director: Eric Weber
Actors: Joe Pantoliano, Boyd Gaines, Peter Gerety
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 12/11/2017 11:55 AM
"One of my favorite actors, Joe Pantoliano (Joey Pants), is in top form in this dark comedy! As part of a group of losers he and his buds mostly sit around talking about how they almost made it but each falls just short of success! Sounds slow but it is highly entertaining!"


Eddie the Eagle [4K Ultra HD] [Blu-ray]
Eddie the Eagle [4K Ultra HD] [Blu-ray] (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 12/11/2017 2:55 AM
"Great true story movie that is definitely worth a watch and had some great moments by some great actors in it."


Eddie the Eagle [Blu-ray]
Eddie the Eagle [Blu-ray] (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 12/11/2017 2:55 AM
"Great true story movie that is definitely worth a watch and had some great moments by some great actors in it."


Eddie the Eagle
Eddie the Eagle (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 12/11/2017 2:54 AM
"Great true story movie that is definitely worth a watch and had some great moments by some great actors in it."


Slings & Arrows: The Complete Collection
Slings & Arrows: The Complete Collection (2008) NR
Actors: Paul Gross, Martha Burns, Mark McKinney
Release Year: 2008

Review by: Kathleen P. - 12/9/2017 4:51 PM
"Superb !"


Edward & Mrs. Simpson
Edward & Mrs. Simpson (2011) NR
Director: Waris Hussein
Actors: Edward Fox, Cynthia Harris, David Waller
Release Year: 2011

Review by: Sandra P. - 12/9/2017 9:47 AM
"Very lovely imagery of a sad couple who always lamented the fact that "Mrs.Simpson ", the Duchess of Windsor, was never received by the Royal family.She was a shrewd, scheming,wily woman, who desired fame and fortune at any cost.
I wish the vulgar kissy scenes had been the Rated G type, but, that is not the case."


BLACK MASS (BLU-RAY + DVD + ULTRAVIOLET)
BLACK MASS (BLU-RAY + DVD + ULTRAVIOLET) (0)

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 12/8/2017 12:26 PM
"This has to be the best character I've ever seen portrayed by Johnny Depp! He loses hair and puts on a bit of weight and becomes Whitey Bulger! Very entertaining movie!"


13 Hours in a Warehouse
13 Hours in a Warehouse (2008) R
Director: Dav Kaufman
Actors: Carson Lee, Chars Bonin, Danny Salmen
Release Year: 2008

Review by: David M. (KingofGarageSales) - 12/8/2017 4:24 AM
"This is, without a doubt the worst movie I've ever seen!

I watched this DVD TWICE just to make sure that I hadn't missed something, but no, I hadn't: It was not I, but the director who missed something; such as plot, credible dialog, etc.,etc.

I can think of no rational reason for the movie to have been made at all, except as a quick-buck tag-along that would attract those viewers who might think it had some tie-in to the immensely popular Warehouse 13, or at least was a parody of it.

Well, it ain't, folks. Nor does it have the potential of becoming a cult classic like Little Shop of Horrors, Rocky Horror Picture Show, or Mars Attacks. I bid one penny (+ $3.00 s&h) for it on eBay; unfortunately I was the high bidder."


5 Flights Up [Blu-ray]
5 Flights Up [Blu-ray] (2015) PG-13
Director: Richard Loncraine
Actors: Morgan Freeman, Diane Keaton, Cynthia Nixon
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 12/7/2017 12:31 PM
"Wonderful film with a sweet story about life and growing old together. Morgan Freeman (always in top form) and Diane Keaton are a long time married couple who must decide whether to sell their valuable Brooklyn apartment to move "up" to Manhattan or not. Many flights of stairs and their elderly dog do not help in the decision. Fun to see how it's done in the big city from the perspective of one who lives in the Midwest in a more normal neighborhood."


Beyond the Sea
Beyond the Sea (2005) PG-13
Director: Kevin Spacey
Actors: Kevin Spacey, Kate Bosworth, John Goodman
Release Year: 2005

Review by: David M. (KingofGarageSales) - 12/6/2017 8:25 PM
"My image of Kevin Spacey was formed by his stellar-but-chilling portrayal in House of Cards, and I've requested every DVD he starred in, sight unseen.

So I was at first taken aback when I began watching Beyond The Sea and realized that (1) it was a musical in which (2) a singing-and-dancing Kevin Spacey portrayed teen idol Bobby Darin.

I confess to being old enough to remember Bobby Darin and my first reaction was that Kevin Spacey was no Bobby Darin. Bobby Darin's father, perhaps, but not the bobby-sox heartthrob Bobby Darin I remembered.

But the more I watched--and became increasingly fascinated by Spacey's versatility as not only an actor but also as a singer and dancer (including several great tap-dancing routines)--the more I became caught up in the story line and the extent to which my memories of the Bobby Darin of my youth faded like wisps of breeze-blown mist.

Beyond The Sea is a superlative "suspension of disbelief" movie that doesn't have to rely on Byzantine plot twists or tension to thoroughly entertain. Four stars!"


Jurassic Park III [Blu-ray]
Jurassic Park III [Blu-ray] (2015) PG-13
Director: Joe Johnston
Actors: Sam Neill, William H. Macy, Téa Leoni
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Mark D. - 12/6/2017 11:12 AM
"If you are a fan of this movie (as I am), you will be pleasantly surprised at the absolutely beautiful quality of this blu ray presentation.....to say the least.....IT IS AWESOME! They took the disastrous DVD release and turned it into a pristine Blu ray presentation! The picture is sharp, detailed and bright. The 7.1 surround track is amazing (and a bit room-shaking at times!) and reveals ambient sound effects of exotic birds and jungle chatter in the background of almost every scene.
KUDOS to the technicians that worked on remastering this Blu ray!!!
If you are a fan of creature features or the JURASSIC Park franchise then, by all means, do not hesitate to add this title to your collection!
"


WORKS, THE - BODY SCULPTING
WORKS, THE - BODY SCULPTING (2008) NR
Actor: Sharon Mann
Release Year: 2008

Review by: Ann S. - 12/5/2017 9:43 PM
"I like the mix and match and Sharon is always great with lots of variations with her backup teams"


Hostel (Unrated Widescreen Edition)
Hostel (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (2006) R
Director: Eli Roth
Actors: Jay Hernandez, Derek Richardson, Eythor Gudjonsson
Release Year: 2006

Review by: Erica B. (Movies4life) - 12/5/2017 3:35 PM
"A cringe-worthy amazing movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Hostel gives the viewer a different angle of what traveling to foreign countries can be like. You will want to protect your friends and family when you travel. Great movie to own."


Hereafter (Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy)
Hereafter (Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy) (2011) PG-13
Director: Clint Eastwood
Actors: Matt Damon, Bryce Dallas Howard
Release Year: 2011

Review by: Erica B. (Movies4life) - 12/5/2017 3:32 PM
"Great movie. Emotional and pulls at the heart strings. There are some supernatural elements involved in this amazing movie. This is a must see and must own for those who wonder if there is life after death, if your loved ones are safe after death. Great movie to own and add to your library."