Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Brooklyn South: The Complete Series
Brooklyn South: The Complete Series (2003) NR
Actors: Jon Tenney, Michael DeLuise, Gary Basaraba
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Andrea M. - 6/25/2017 9:18 PM
"I got Brooklyn South because I saw that Titus Welliver, from Bosch, had an early role in the series. Most of the reviews here are several years old. The cast is full of people you will recognize you have gone onto other shows. Fundamentally, if you were a fan of Hill Street Blues, this is by the same creator who is great at weaving storylines throughout the season. With the ensemble cast, it is fairly well-balanced across the characters. Six discs make for a good binge watching that you know will come to an end."


Whiplash
Whiplash (0) R

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/25/2017 2:59 AM
"Very good acting and very strong beginning and middle but stalled 3/4 into it but took back off for a twist and turn ending. I liked the ended but they could have gone further with it. I was never in a band but I like music and this was very entertaining but NOT for the weak at heart. The language and violence was a bit much at times."


Whiplash - DVD
Whiplash - DVD (2015) Unrated
Actors: J.K. Simmons, Miles Teller
Release Year: 2015

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/25/2017 2:59 AM
"Very good acting and very strong beginning and middle but stalled 3/4 into it but took back off for a twist and turn ending. I liked the ended but they could have gone further with it. I was never in a band but I like music and this was very entertaining but NOT for the weak at heart. The language and violence was a bit much at times."


Whiplash - Blu-ray
Whiplash - Blu-ray (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/25/2017 2:59 AM
"Very good acting and very strong beginning and middle but stalled 3/4 into it but took back off for a twist and turn ending. I liked the ended but they could have gone further with it. I was never in a band but I like music and this was very entertaining but NOT for the weak at heart. The language and violence was a bit much at times."


Silverado
Silverado (2002) PG-13
Director: Lawrence Kasdan
Actors: Kevin Kline, Scott Glenn, Kevin Costner
Release Year: 2002

Review by: George K. - 6/24/2017 10:14 AM
"Given that it's a fun, classic western, the following needs no spoiler alert: Plenty of very bad guys, plenty of shooting, ending as some noble horsemen ride off toward the horizon, leaving their longtime companion at home with his newfound true love."


As Good As It Gets
As Good As It Gets (1998) R
Director: James L. Brooks
Actors: Jack Nicholson, Helen Hunt, Greg Kinnear
Release Year: 1998

Review by: Michael C. (msc1208) - 6/23/2017 4:54 PM
"This movie is not Rated R. Please don't let a typo keep you from missing out on such a perfect movie that is age-appropriate for its actual PG-13 rating."


As Good As It Gets
As Good As It Gets (1998) R
Director: James L. Brooks
Actors: Jack Nicholson, Helen Hunt, Greg Kinnear
Release Year: 1998

Review by: Marleen M. - 6/23/2017 11:22 AM
"Can't stomach Jack Nicholson and hated this movie so much I wanted to walk out but DH insisted it had to get better as it couldn't get any worse. He was wrong."


Heat (Two-Disc Special Edition)
Heat (Two-Disc Special Edition) (2005) R
Actors: Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, Val Kilmer
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 6/21/2017 12:45 PM
"All star cast that really pays off! This is the original plus the added extras on second disk make this a real keeper! Pacino and De Niro are the best in the business and with the addition of Tom Sizemore Jon Voight as well as Val Kilmer there is much to offer with this fabulous movie!"


Concrete Cowboys with 4 Bonus Films
Concrete Cowboys with 4 Bonus Films (2016) NR
Director: Various
Actors: Tom Selleck, Jerry Reed, Roy Acuff
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 6/20/2017 12:46 PM
"WOW! What a bargain with 5 movies for the price of one. Tom Selleck and Jerry Reed are always fun and entertaining as cowboys born a century too late. Andy Crocker is a returning Viet Nam war vet story with super talent from Lee Majors, Joey Heatherton, and also a bit of Agnes Moorehead thrown in for good measure. Jack Palance (remember the one armed push-ups in City Slickers?)as a "ruthless criminal". Clint Black does great as Cadillac Jack, a rodeo cowboy who gets in with the wrong crowd. Once Upon a Texas Train stars Willie Nelson as John Henry ex-con with a score to settle. Five films with a cowboy theme that is fun and well worth watching!"


Contraband
Contraband (0)
Director: Baltasar Kormákur
Actors: Mark Wahlberg, Giovanni Ribisi

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 6/20/2017 12:35 PM
"You just simply cannot go wrong selecting a Mark Wahlberg movie to watch! He is always right on spot with his characters and this time around he is especially good as the guy who gets pulled back in to the life of crime he left when he became a family man. See Panama from the gritty underside while smuggling fine art and counterfeit money to settle a debt."


American Psycho (Uncut Killer Collector's Edition)
American Psycho (Uncut Killer Collector's Edition) (2005) Unrated
Director: Mary Harron
Actors: Christian Bale, Justin Theroux, Josh Lucas
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 6/20/2017 12:28 PM
"This is the kind of person who must have began by pulling the wings off flies and nailing mice to a board for their cats amusement! He is so cold and sinister on the inside while giving friends and fiancee (Reese Witherspoon) a warmer impression that he gets away with plenty of violence while going about his daily activity. I found this character so terrifying especially thinking about how many like him are around us in today's society! Truly mesmerizing movie that will stay with me a while! Maybe I need to see him as Batman to get over this movie!"


Let The Right One In
Let The Right One In (2009) R
Director: Tomas Alfredson
Actors: Lina Leandersson, Kare Hedebrant
Release Year: 2009

Review by: SV S. - 6/20/2017 10:53 AM
"I just want people to be fully aware of what they're signing up for with this film. If you haven't read the book, you won't understand how truly f*cked up this story is.

The little "girl" in this film is not a little girl, he is a castrated boy (victim of a satanic paedophile king in medieval times, according to the diseased mind of the author). Eli's (the vampire boy's) "dad" is nothing of the kind - he is also a paedophile, who Eli is using as a means to obtain blood, since Eli is too small to take down adult humans.

This alone should be enough to frighten decent people away from this repulsive film, but unfortunately the child molestation aspect is exactly what has drawn so many sick perverts to the film (and I'm sure many of them won't openly admit WHY they like this movie so much, claiming instead that it has "artistic merit", or some other specious nonsense).

The only good thing about the film is the friendship between the two boys, but this is overshadowed by all the gratuitous gore and paedophilia-apologism. If you care about children's rights, you will not watch this film, as it attempts to normalise and make entertaining a heinous crime against the most innocent among us."


The Right Stuff
The Right Stuff (1997) PG
Director: Philip Kaufman
Actors: Sam Shepard, Scott Glenn, Ed Harris
Release Year: 1997

Review by: Andrea M. - 6/20/2017 9:12 AM
"Very interesting recounting of historical space exploration. Star-studded cast brings good performances all the way around--even smaller roles have recognizable faces. I thought to see it since our family watched Hidden Figures this year. My only caution is that it is very long."


Sicario [Blu-ray]
Sicario [Blu-ray] (2016)
Release Year: 2016

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/18/2017 8:46 PM
"A really well made narco enforcement action thriller. Lots of turns and twist that I did not expect and some great acting.
"


Forger
Forger (2015)
Release Year: 2015

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/18/2017 8:36 PM
"Started out a bit slow and gritty but took off with an excellent plot line and ending. Lots of excellent well know actors in this."


Forger [Blu-ray]
Forger [Blu-ray] (2015)
Release Year: 2015

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/18/2017 8:36 PM
"Started out a bit slow and gritty but took off with an excellent plot line and ending. Lots of excellent well know actors in this."


Leslie Sansone's Walk Slim - 4 Fast Miles
Leslie Sansone's Walk Slim - 4 Fast Miles (2007) NR
Actor: Leslie Sansone
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Danita M. - 6/18/2017 7:43 AM
"I enjoyed the accelerated rate of the workout, liked the boosted walking!
It went faster than some of the others, so it is a dvd that I have used
fairly often. When I have a little extra time, but not too much!"


My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (0)
Director: Kirk Jones

Review by: Charlotte E. - 6/17/2017 12:09 PM
"Loved the first one and heard a few comments that this one wasn't as good as first. However, there are some really funny lines and scenes in this one as well. Perhaps the first had more laugh out loud scenes, but this one is well worth the family night together evening! I loved it. 5 stars from me!"


Collateral (Two-Disc Special Edition)
Collateral (Two-Disc Special Edition) (2004) R
Director: Michael Mann
Actors: Tom Cruise, Jamie Foxx, Jada Pinkett Smith
Release Year: 2004

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 6/17/2017 11:18 AM
"Very impressive performances by both Tom Cruise and Jamie Foxx, and with Michael Mann at the wheel you can expect some great action and drama. Supporting cast... Jada Pinkett Smith, Mark Ruffalo, and Peter Berg each contribute for an overall exciting 2 hours of entertainment. Cruise is so cool looking with graying hair and expensive suits but watch the extras on second disk for another "look" by Cruise with long hair and heavier beard. Must have been results of making a previous film?"


Lennon Naked
Lennon Naked (2010) NR
Actor: Christopher Eccleston
Release Year: 2010

Review by: SV S. - 6/17/2017 8:54 AM
"A solid piece of professionally made Beatles fan fiction. Excellent acting from Eccleston - his John feels very true to reality and allows a serious Beatle fan to relax and enjoy the story instead of critiquing his choices. He brings to life John's childlike enthusiasm and spontaneity and sharp-witted snarkiness very well indeed.

The writing, too, explores John realistically, as both gifted and far-sighted artist, misunderstood by the ignorant surrounding him, and as a fallible human being who was capable of serious nastiness and lack of tact. I've always been curious about John's late-in-life relationship with his formerly absent father, and this film explored it in a believable and interesting way.

Funnily, my largest complaint is that Andrew Scott's wig was done wrong: too light a colour and not cut right. Paul McCartney is fussy about his appearance to the point of looking like a mannequin, and I thought this film's Paul was much too scruffy in appearance. Scruffy works for John, but not so much for Paul, who always had every hair in place even when he wanted to seem like he didn't care.

One other complaint is that this story does not venture into how John *actually* met Yoko, which is revealed in Cynthia Lennon's memoir. That's a whole other can of worms, though, and I don't want to wreck this review with negativity. This film centres on the childhood trauma that affected John his entire life, and this is depicted in a sensitive way that will resonate with anyone who has a heart. It's easy enough to see why John and Yoko ended up together, as they both had awful experiences in childhood that wounded them in similar ways.

Worthwhile watch for both Beatles fans and anyone who appreciates a moving (mostly) true story. 3.5 stars."


The Ugly Duckling and Me - Love Is in the Air
The Ugly Duckling and Me - Love Is in the Air (2008) NR
Directors: Martin Skov, Soren Jensen
Actor: Ugly Duckling & Me 3-Love Is in the Air
Release Year: 2008

Review by: SV S. - 6/17/2017 8:16 AM
"I haven't seen this, thank god, but that's the most awful DVD cover I've ever seen in my life. I just had to comment on it. 0.5 stars."


Knight Rider
Knight Rider (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/14/2017 1:32 AM
"Nothing compares to the original Hoff version!"


Knight Rider - Season One
Knight Rider - Season One (2009) NR
Actors: Justin Bruening, Deanna Russo, Paul Campbell
Release Year: 2009

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 6/14/2017 1:31 AM
"Nothing compares to the original Hoff version!"


Desperate Housewives - The Complete First Season
Desperate Housewives - The Complete First Season (2005) NR
Directors: Arlene Sanford, Charles McDougall, David Grossman
Actors: Andrea Bowen, Richard Burgi, Michael Reilly Burke
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Rachel W. - 6/13/2017 9:19 PM
"I got this show in a lot of dvd's i purchased. The title threw me off and it sounded ridiculous! I decided to give it a shot. I immediately got hooked! Don't let the title let you think it is some cheesy romantic comedy and that's it. This show has it all, comedy, romance, drama, murder mystery..all in one. My husband and son even got into it, and had their favorite characters. This is one of my top favorite shows ever, and i ended up watching the whole 8 seasons. Wish there were more! Every episode leaves you wondering what is going to happen next! 5 stars!"


Brighty of the Grand Canyon 2011 - A family feature based on book by Marguerite Henry - includes bonus material about Grand Canyon and animals that live there
Brighty of the Grand Canyon 2011 - A family feature based on book by Marguerite Henry - includes bonus material about Grand Canyon and animals that live there (0) G

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 6/13/2017 12:15 PM
"Having read all the Marguerite Henry books around as a young girl growing up in Arizona I find this a real treat to watch over and over again! The bonus to this DVD is the footage of the Grand Canyon! Great writing and fabulous filming make this a real treat!"