Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Sightings - Heartland Ghost
Sightings - Heartland Ghost (2004) R
Director: Brian Trenchard-Smith
Actors: Beau Bridges, Nia Long, Miguel Ferrer
Release Year: 2004

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/17/2018 5:31 AM
"True story. Had a couple well known actors you know and the movie was a bit dated but I thought it was very well done bringing in elements of Poltergeist movies and the TV series Supernatural. A must watch for horror ghost and demon fans!"


The Last Horror Movie (Unrated Edition)
The Last Horror Movie (Unrated Edition) (2004) R
Actors: Chris Adamson, Antonia Beamish, John Berlyne
Release Year: 2004

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/17/2018 4:08 AM
"I would not waste your time with so many better horror movies out there. I thought this was a complete garage and I was not even able to finish it since it was so bad..."


The Last Horror Movie
The Last Horror Movie (2004) R
Actors: Chris Adamson, Antonia Beamish, John Berlyne
Release Year: 2004

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/17/2018 4:08 AM
"I would not waste your time with so many better horror movies out there. I thought this was a complete garage and I was not even able to finish it since it was so bad..."


Last Horror Movie, The
Last Horror Movie, The (2014) R
Actor: Mark Stevenson, Antonia Beamish Kevin Howarth
Release Year: 2014

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/17/2018 4:08 AM
"I would not waste your time with so many better horror movies out there. I thought this was a complete garage and I was not even able to finish it since it was so bad..."


Accused, Series 1 & 2
Accused, Series 1 & 2 (2014)
Directors: David Blair, Richard Laxton, Ashley Pearce
Actors: Sean Bean, Anna Maxwell Martin, Andy Serkis
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Samuel K. (Solvanda) - 11/17/2018 3:44 AM
"2010 BBC series. Written by Jimmy McGovern, the bloke responsible for Cracker, and well, he seems to have a penchant for engulfing his characters in tribulation. Each of these tales is just about people's lives, fragile as they are. And the way ordinary people get roped into situations which are quite understandable. And, some are where people get so lost in the moment that clear reasoning slips. And well, yeah, there's plenty of idiotic folk out there too. A handful of these scenarios are a direct result of frustration with a bankrupt justice system, bound by bureaucracy. Even people utilizing the legal system to torment others or institutionalized bullying. Some might consider this series demoralizing due to this factor. Truth is, it's just telling things like they are. This is not formulaic crime drama. And every one packs a good punch.

Each episode starts with the accused in their cell waiting for the decision of the jury, and there really is no guessing. Some of these are quite the surprise. Very interesting to see the outcomes of the case at the end after viewing what really occurred. No regular cast, but great cast of actors you'll quickly recognize, who do an outstanding job (several Doctor Who's in here.) All said, you'll not want to binge these. Compulsive viewing it is though."


Enter Nowhere
Enter Nowhere (2012) R
Director: Jack Heller
Actors: Shaun Sipos, Scott Eastwood, Sara Paxton
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/17/2018 3:36 AM
"The initial plotline was a bit confusing and boring but then this sci-fi drama took off and it made sense but I won't spoil the suspenseful ending for you."


San Andreas (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet)
San Andreas (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet) (0)

Review by: Kimberly K. (kmk) - 11/16/2018 3:26 PM
"I enjoyed the special effects on this one."


The Wailing
The Wailing (2016)
Director: Na Hong Jin
Actors: Kwak Do Won, Hwang Jung Min, Kunimura Jun
Release Year: 2016

Review by: Tony B. (horrorfan70) - 11/16/2018 12:30 AM
"I loved this movie, as a big horror fan, i look for movies that surprise me,
and this one is great, if you havent seen it, do yourself a favor and see it asap!!"


The Christmas Blessing
The Christmas Blessing (2007) NR
Director: Karen Arthur
Actor: Rob Lowe; Neal Patrick Harris; Rebecca Gayheart and Angus T. Jones
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Alicia A. - 11/15/2018 9:23 PM
"Great family movie! We have this movie and watch it every holiday season. You wont be disappointed!"


Arthur Christmas (Two Discs: Blu-ray / DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
Arthur Christmas (Two Discs: Blu-ray / DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (2012) PG
Release Year: 2012

Review by: Alicia A. - 11/15/2018 8:59 PM
"My 10 year old daughter enjoys this movie very much. It is a Great family movie to watch for the holidays!"


Night of the Blood Beast
Night of the Blood Beast (2005) Unrated
Director: Bernard L. Kowalski
Actors: John Baer, Angela Greene, Ed Nelson
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Mark D. - 11/13/2018 10:18 AM
"Just bought this Retromedia version at a flea market this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised that this is perhaps the best quality version I've seen out there on a public domain DVD. The sound is crystal clear and you can hear every bit of dialogue clearly.The picture quality is also about 5 notches above every other version I've seen on video over the years since I've been collecting home video versions of my fave horror/sci fi films (for those curious few that want to know how long I've been into home video....that would be July 1980 with the purchase of my first VCR).
Previous reviews of this movie have covered the overall plot so I won't cover that angle again here."


The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (2002) NR
Actors: Simon Jones, David Dixon, Peter Jones
Release Year: 2002

Review by: Samuel K. (Solvanda) - 11/13/2018 7:21 AM
"Douglas Adams taught me how to make a creamed cup of black tea the proper way. I had been making it wrong my entire life up to that point and had no idea. Same thing when I first encountered the Hitchhiker's Guide. Thought I'd been reading great scifi, but alas. Douglas' total output wasn't very prolific. All of it is, however, the best of the best. He would struggle for days and hours in the writing process to condense things down to precise tidbits which hit nails on the head consecutively, and shone with warmth and wit. This series is much better than the movie, and closer to the book. Though not as flashy as the movie, of course.

BTW...the cow (dish of the day) which invites itself to be eaten at the restaurant was played by Peter Davison (the fifth Doctor Who.) Having played a vet on All Creatures Great and Small, it was thought having the actor donned in this capacity might provide more than a little amusement. Davison's then wife plays Trillian in this series too. And their offspring, Georgia Moffett married David Tennant (the tenth Doctor Who.)

There was a sixth book written posthumously by Eoin Colfer titled: "And Another Thing". He emulates Adam's style of humor well, and it is worth perusing. Audio dramas of the books are also available from the Beeb. I've been through a few so far. These might possibly be better than this TV miniseries, and even closer to the books.

Some great quotes from Hitchhiker's Guide:

"Would you like me to stick my head in a bucket of water?"
"Rubbish. We don't want to be happy. We want to be famous."
"A bunch of mindless jerks who'll be the first against the wall when the revolution comes."
"Should we put paper bags over our heads or something?"
"I have a million ideas, they all point to certain death."
"Shee. You guys are so unhip it's a wonder your bums don't fall off."
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
"Mr. President, we're here for your protection." "Oh! Hey! Thanks man! I appreciate it!" "Fire!"
"May I urge you Sir to consider my liver? It must be very rich and tender by now. I have been force feeding myself for months."
"The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks donít.""


Stranger Things Season 1 4-disc DVD / Blu-Ray Collector's Edition Box Set (Exclusive VHS Box Style Packaging)
Stranger Things Season 1 4-disc DVD / Blu-Ray Collector's Edition Box Set (Exclusive VHS Box Style Packaging) (0)
Actors: Winona Ryder, David Harbour, Finn Wolfhard

Review by: Doug S. - 11/13/2018 5:54 AM
"This series is fantastic and Season 1 got me so hooked that I could not stop watching.. Makes you feel like watching things upside down LOL"


OCCUPATION (2018) (DGTL/BD) [Blu-ray]
OCCUPATION (2018) (DGTL/BD) [Blu-ray] (2018) R
Actors: Temuera Morrison, Dan Ewing
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 1:18 AM
"Solid action that reminded me of Independence Day and Falling Skies. A must watch for sci-fi fans!"


Invasion Of The Body Snatchers (1978)
Invasion Of The Body Snatchers (1978) (0) PG

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:14 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Invasion Of The Body Snatchers (1978)
Invasion Of The Body Snatchers (1978) (0) PG

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:13 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Invasion of the Body Snatchers
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1998) PG
Actors: Donald Sutherland, Jeff Goldblum
Release Year: 1998

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:12 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Invasion Of The Body Snatchers [Collector's Edition] [Blu-ray]
Invasion Of The Body Snatchers [Collector's Edition] [Blu-ray] (2016) PG
Director: Philip Kaufman
Actors: Donald Sutherland, Leonard Nimoy, Brooke Adams
Release Year: 2016

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:12 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Invasion of the Body Snatchers (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in Blu-ray Packaging)
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in Blu-ray Packaging) (2010) PG
Actors: Donald Sutherland, Jeff Goldblum
Release Year: 2010

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:08 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Invasion of the Body Snatchers (Collector's Edition)
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (Collector's Edition) (2007) PG
Director: Philip Kaufman
Actors: Donald Sutherland, Brooke Adams, Jeff Goldblum
Release Year: 2007

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:08 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Invasion of the Body Snatchers [Blu-ray]
Invasion of the Body Snatchers [Blu-ray] (2011) PG
Actor: Invasion of the Body Snatchers
Release Year: 2011

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/13/2018 12:08 AM
"Dated but one of the best sci-fi drama plotlines that you will ever come across. The special effects were great since someone physically created them instead of today's overdone and unrealistic CGI. Donald Sutherland is at his best!"


Don't Grow Up [Blu-ray]
Don't Grow Up [Blu-ray] (2018) R
Actors: Fergus Riordan, Madeleine Kelly, McKell David
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/12/2018 11:36 PM
"Was not really expecting much from this but the kids did a great job with this acting skills."


Don't Grow Up DVD+Blu-ray
Don't Grow Up DVD+Blu-ray (2018) R
Actors: Fergus Riordan, Madeleine Kelly, McKell David
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/12/2018 11:36 PM
"Was not really expecting much from this but the kids did a great job with this acting skills."


BuyBust [Blu-ray + DVD]
BuyBust [Blu-ray + DVD] (2018)
Director: Erik Matti
Actors: Anne Curtis, Brandon Vera, Victor Neri
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER) - 11/12/2018 11:33 PM
"Insane fight scenes! The plotline and action reminded me of The Raid."


Birdman
Birdman (2015) R
Release Year: 2015

Review by: Kris M. (Ellsinore) - 11/11/2018 1:43 PM
"I watched this movie for 30 minutes before giving up (DNF). If I hadn't read the back of the box, I would not have had any idea what it was about."