Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

12 Rounds 2: Reloaded [Blu-ray]
12 Rounds 2: Reloaded [Blu-ray] (2013) R
Actor: 12 Rounds 2: Reloaded
Release Year: 2013

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 6:39 PM
"Excellent plotline and action sequences."


12 Rounds 2: Reloaded
12 Rounds 2: Reloaded (2013) R
Actor: 12 Rounds 2: Reloaded
Release Year: 2013

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 6:39 PM
"Excellent plotline and action sequences."


Norah Jones and The Handsome Band - Live in 2004
Norah Jones and The Handsome Band - Live in 2004 (2004) NR
Actors: Dolly Parton, David Rawlings, Gillian Welch
Release Year: 2004

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 5:08 PM
"Only one song that I recognized but it was cool to see Dolly Parton on this."


Jarhead 3: The Siege
Jarhead 3: The Siege (2016) NR
Director: Will Kaufman
Actors: Scott Adkins, Charlie Weber, Dante Basco
Release Year: 2016

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 5:12 AM
"Very believable plotline. I really like it!"


Jarhead 3: The Siege [Blu-ray]
Jarhead 3: The Siege [Blu-ray] (2016) NR
Director: Will Kaufman
Actors: Scott Adkins, Charlie Weber, Dante Basco
Release Year: 2016

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 5:11 AM
"Very believable plotline. I really like it!"


Rihanna: Good Girl Gone Bad Live [Blu-ray]
Rihanna: Good Girl Gone Bad Live [Blu-ray] (2009) NR
Director: Paul Caslin
Actor: Rihanna
Release Year: 2009

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 5:10 AM
"I like several of Rihanna's songs BUT this concert DVD only had one song I recognized. The picture and song quality was excellent if you are a fan of all of her music."


Good Girl Gone Bad Live
Good Girl Gone Bad Live (2008) Unrated
Director: Rihanna
Actor: Rihanna
Release Year: 2008

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/25/2018 5:10 AM
"I like several of Rihanna's songs BUT this concert DVD only had one song I recognized. The picture and song quality was excellent if you are a fan of all of her music."


Comedy Classics V.5
Comedy Classics V.5 (2005) NR
Actors: Kirk Douglas, Mickey Rooney, Carole Lombard
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Evelyn Y. - 9/24/2018 8:38 PM
"We totally enjoyed these movies! They are just clean fun! Will keep in my collection! (:
"


My Fair Lady
My Fair Lady (2009) G
Director: George Cukor
Actors: Audrey Hepburn, Rex Harrison, Stanley Holloway
Release Year: 2009

Review by: Samuel K. (Solvanda) - 9/24/2018 7:29 AM
"1964 musical inspired by the stage musical which was inspired by the 1913 stage play "Pygmalion" by George Bernard Shaw. I've always appreciated this film for the human lesson residing at it's core. Personally I think Pygmalion Projects are some of the worst atrocities human beings can commit against another, whether small or large in scale. How many people in the last century alone did things for "the people's own good," paving a road to hell instead? Although, the film is much lighter in fare, the lesson of the original tale is still there underneath:

In Greek legend, a brash young sculptor named Pygmalion found the women of Cyprus so impossibly flawed that he resolved to carve a statue of his ideal woman, embodying every feminine grace and virtue. For months he labored with all his prodigious skill (and also with a strange compulsion), rounding here, smoothing there, until he had fashioned the most exquisite figure ever conceived by art. So exquisite indeed was his creation that Pygmalion fell passionately in love with the statue, and could be seen in his studio kissing its marble lips, fingering its marble hands, dressing and grooming the figure as if caring for a doll. But soon, and in spite of the work's incomparable loveliness, Pygmalion was desperately unhappy, for the lifeless statue could not respond to his desires, the cold stone could not return the warmth of his love. He had set out to shape his perfect woman, but had succeeded only in creating his own frustration and despair.

In our closest relationships, we all behave like Pygmalion to some extent. Many of us seem attracted at first to creatures quite different from ourselves, and seem to take pleasure in the contrast. But as we become more involved and start to vie for control of our relationships, we begin to see these differences as flaws. No longer satisfied with our loved ones as they are, we set about to change them, to transform them into our conception of what they should be. No longer able to appreciate out loved ones' distinctive ways of living, we try to shape them according to our own values or agendas. Like Pygmalion, in short, we take up the projects of sculpting them little by little to suit ourselves. We snipe and criticize, brow-beat and bully, we sculpt with guilt and with praise, with logic and with tears -- whatever methods are most natural to us. Not that we do this ceaselessly, nor always maliciously, but all to often, almost without thinking, we fall into this pattern of coercive behavior.

And like Pygmalion, we are inevitably frustrated, since our well-intentioned efforts to make over our loved ones bring us little more than disappointment and conflict. Our loved ones do not -- cannot -- comply meekly with our interferences in their lives, and even if they were to surrender to our pressure, they would have to destroy in themselves what attracted us in the first place, their individuality, their distinct breath of life. Our Pygmalion projects must fail; either our loved ones fight back, and our relationships become battlegrounds; or they give in to us, and become as lifeless as Pygmalion's statue. In this paradoxical game, we lose even if we win.

In the legend, as it turns out, Venus took pity on Pygmalion and brought his statue to life, and he and "Galatea," as he name her, blushed, embraced, and married with the goddess's blessing. The rest of us, however, cannot rely on such miraculous intervention. Living in the real world, we are responsible ourselves for the success of our relationships, and this means we must find a way to abandon our Pygmalion projects, by learning, if we can, to honor our fundamental differences in personality. For only by respecting the right of our loved ones to be different from ourselves -- to be perfect in their own ways -- can we begin to bring the beauty of our own relationships alive. And, to put a positive and forward-gazing spin on this, an upward calling -- if we're perceptive and appreciative enough -- we may even nurture and feed these natural strengths, enabling those around us to reach their inherent potentials."


Counselor
Counselor (2014) R
Release Year: 2014

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 5:13 PM
"Pretty brutal narco-trafficker plotline with lots of unexpected twists and turns. Brad Pitt is one of my favorite actions but I did not really like his role in this film and did not like how it ended. I definitely would not want to watch this again."


Counselor
Counselor (2014) R
Release Year: 2014

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 5:12 PM
"Pretty brutal narco-trafficker plotline with lots of unexpected twists and turns. Brad Pitt is one of my favorite actors but I did not really like his role in this film and did not like how the movie ended. I definitely would not want to watch this again."


Counselor (Dvd,2014) Rental Exclusive
Counselor (Dvd,2014) Rental Exclusive (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 5:12 PM
"Pretty brutal narco-trafficker plotline with lots of unexpected twists and turns. Brad Pitt is one of my favorite actions but I did not really like his role in this film and did not like how it ended. I definitely would not want to watch this again."


The Counselor
The Counselor (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 5:12 PM
"Pretty brutal narco-trafficker plotline with lots of unexpected twists and turns. Brad Pitt is one of my favorite actions but I did not really like his role in this film and did not like how it ended. I definitely would not want to watch this again."


The Greatest Showman (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital)
The Greatest Showman (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital) (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 4:34 PM
"Outstanding acting, sets and scenery! It's a great story if based on a true story of the greatest showman, P.T. Barnum. I'm not much for musicals but it was pretty limited in this one so you will not be disappointed."


The Greatest Showman
The Greatest Showman (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 4:34 PM
"Outstanding acting, sets and scenery! It's a great story if based on a true story of the greatest showman, P.T. Barnum. I'm not much for musicals but it was pretty limited in this one so you will not be disappointed."


The Greatest Showman [Blu-ray]
The Greatest Showman [Blu-ray] (2018) PG
Actor: Greatest Showman
Release Year: 2018

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 4:34 PM
"Outstanding acting, sets and scenery! It's a great story if based on a true story of the greatest showman, P.T. Barnum. I'm not much for musicals but it was pretty limited in this one so you will not be disappointed."


Angel-A
Angel-A (2007) R
Director: Luc Besson
Actors: Rie Rasmussen, Jamel Debbouze, Gilbert Melki
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Don K. - 9/23/2018 2:00 PM
"Thumbs up for Angel-A.

The French have a knack for beleaguering every emotional subject in a film. You, the audience, get the idea pretty early on, but just in case they have to zoom in, look you in the eye and spell it out...every time. Yawn. And despite the fact that this movie is no exception, the director approaches the emotional content with more of a smack you in the face and walk away attitude. Somehow, he manages to make the conflict charming. You take the smack and turn away, but you keep coming back for more. Worth seeing!"


Horse Crazy
Horse Crazy (0)

Review by: Pamela G. (pamgram1) - 9/23/2018 12:55 PM
"From Amazon review: Story starts out in your average suburban home, Mom, Dad, Big brother, little brother and little bossy sister. Little brother dreams of the wild horses every night and his sister worries about this. They have a friend at school they call 'Tex' who says he is a cowboy from Texas. A special bond is formed between the three little friends when it is discovered that Tex really lives in a trailer and is not from Texas, he is worried that his new friends will desert him but this does not happen only brings them closer together.

They devised a scheme to run away to Nevada (by stowing away in big brothers car) to catch a mustang each and bring them home and keep them in the garage!

Many adventures are had along the way when the trio runs into a team of horse rustlers who try to steal 'General' a famous show horse that the kids have found and 'tamed' all by themselves, unaware that he is not a mustang. They end up being held hostage by the rustlers.

Lots of drama and excitement when the trio are pursued individually by the bad guys and the many clever tricks used by the kids to outsmart their dumb captors!

Happy ending for all when the crooks are caught, General is returned to his rightful owner and love blossoms for big brother and daughter who owns General.

A really enjoyable 'feel good' movie with drama, excitement a little romance and of course, horses galore! I thoroughly recommend this movie to young and not so young, very entertaining."


I.Q.
I.Q. (2003) PG
Actors: Tim Robbins, Meg Ryan, Walter Matthau
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Susan S. (sulock) - 9/23/2018 8:07 AM
"Quirky romance with humor and great characters."


Allied [BD/DVD/Digital HD Combo] [Blu-ray]
Allied [BD/DVD/Digital HD Combo] [Blu-ray] (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 12:02 AM
"Incredible story line, backgrounds and sets. A must see for spy, war and love story fans!"


Allied [DVD]
Allied [DVD] (0)

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/23/2018 12:02 AM
"Incredible story line, backgrounds and sets. A must see for spy, war and love story fans!"


Beast of the Bering Sea
Beast of the Bering Sea (2014) Unrated
Actors: Lipnicki, Scerbo, Dobson
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Samuel K. (Solvanda) - 9/22/2018 10:54 PM
"Some awesome cover artwork on this title. Was kind of excited to watch this one. I've had a B-movie TBW stack going for years. I'll have my wife pick a number and that's the one that gets viewed for the evening.

This film was going okay for a bit. Method actors giving a good performance. Kind of reminiscent of that old miniseries: "The Beast". Then the CGI monsters showed up on the fishing boat. My wife laughed uncontrollably for several minutes after that. And it was all downhill from there. Some redeeming features in script or performance after that? Sorry folks...not worth the bother."


Hours
Hours (2014) PG-13
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Gloria B. (glowbird) - 9/22/2018 5:27 PM
"This is probably the first time that the description on the artwork fits the movie: "an intense, riveting thriller." That, it is. Walker is alone in a New Orleans hospital room throughout the majority of the movie during Hurricane Katrina. He carries this film well, and is excellent.
"


Coma
Coma (2008) NR
Director: Liz Garbus
Actors: Tom Segars, Roxanne Guzman, Sean Reilly
Release Year: 2008

Review by: Michelle S. - 9/22/2018 9:50 AM
"Well done HBO documentary that chronicles the lives of four patients who had sustained a TBI (traumatic brain injury), and their families. It's a journey that I hope that none of us ever has to take."


Psychotica [Blu-ray]
Psychotica [Blu-ray] (2012) Unrated
Director: Michael Klawitter
Actors: Megan Hutchings, Tara Joshi
Release Year: 2012

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 9/22/2018 5:46 AM
"Interesting unique plotline and a fast moving movie at times. A must for horror fans!"