Newest DVD/Movie Reviews

Reading Rainbow: How's That Made?
Reading Rainbow: How's That Made? (2006) NR
Release Year: 2006

Review by: Colleen N. - 4/27/2017 7:11 AM
"Wonderful children's video! It's entertaining (for adults too) and educational. I would highly recommend this, & all Resding Rainbow videos."


Yellowstone: A Symphony of Fire and Water
Yellowstone: A Symphony of Fire and Water (0)

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 4/26/2017 12:30 PM
"Having spent a few summers in Yellowstone Park working in a store I recall so fondly how beautiful the park is! There is so much to see that spending an entire summer there can never cover it as it is one of the most unique and beautiful places on the planet. Definitely a must see for all ages!"


Next of Kin
Next of Kin (1998) R
Actors: Patrick Swayze, Liam Neeson, Adam Baldwin
Release Year: 1998

Review by: Rodney P. - 4/25/2017 8:25 PM
"Deliverance meets the Godfather on the streets of Chicago!"


Hidden Figures (BD+DVD+DHD) [Blu-ray]
Hidden Figures (BD+DVD+DHD) [Blu-ray] (0) PG

Review by: Shonessi T. (Shonessi) - 4/24/2017 1:28 PM
"LOVED this movie! Parts of this movie had me laughing, cheering, tearing up, frustrated,
in awe(I hate complicated math), inspired and I learned a little bit more about history!!!
This movie was excellent!!! I highly recommend it! I love how it was based off of lives by real women living in a different time but those women conquered obstacles and made A DIFFERENCE!!!!! THEY DIDN'T TAKE "NO!" as an answer."


The November Man
The November Man (2014) R
Actors: Pierce Brosnan, Luke Bracey, Bill Smitrovich
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Tony B. (Hollywood) - 4/24/2017 12:20 AM
"Great action packed Spy Thriller! If you like spy movies this is for you.

Pierce Brosnan gets better with age, and really shines in this world of international espionage. As a lethal and highly trained ex-CIA agent he comes out of retirement to safeguard a beautiful witness with a secret that can tip the scales of International Power.

Fasten your seat belt and get ready for an incredible ride.

If you liked Pierce Brosnan as James Bond you will love him as The November Man!

Tony Berka"


Under the Skin
Under the Skin (2014)
Release Year: 2014

Review by: George K. - 4/23/2017 4:35 AM
"Ugh. What a bad movie.

You know those internet clips that tell you "Wait for it,,,wait for it...?"

Well it never happens. Never.

"


Supergirl [DVD] (2006) Helen Slater; Faye Dunaway; Peter O'Toole; Hart Bochner
Supergirl [DVD] (2006) Helen Slater; Faye Dunaway; Peter O'Toole; Hart Bochner (0) Unrated

Review by: Kent J. (kentj) - 4/22/2017 3:12 PM
"What is with the nudity? In some genres and movies it is expected and, appropriate, and part of the setting or plot. It belongs. In Witchblade nudity would have been appropriate but they didn't have it. Supergirl is a DC superhero and there is no reason either in the DC setting or the plot of this movie that makes nudity necessary or appropriate."


Goodbye to All That
Goodbye to All That (2015) Unrated
Release Year: 2015

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 4/22/2017 1:01 AM
"Watched on Netflix. Alot different than I expected but was pretty entertaining."


Phantasm
Phantasm (2007) R
Director: Don Coscarelli
Actors: A. Michael Baldwin, Bill Thornbury, Reggie Bannister
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Michel D. (michelann) - 4/21/2017 11:20 AM
"Had not seen this one in many years and only recalled it as one that really got to me! It is so surreal and when that shiny ball comes around the corner you know you are a goner! Lots of fun!"


Nothing But Trouble
Nothing But Trouble (1998) PG-13
Director: Dan Aykroyd
Actors: Chevy Chase, Dan Aykroyd, John Candy
Release Year: 1998

Review by: Don D. (Donjay) - 4/21/2017 11:01 AM
"awesome comedy, some of the great comedic giants comes together for this funny comedy.
This movie will not win any awards but it will make you laugh and that was the whole point of it!
"


The 3 Worlds of Gulliver
The 3 Worlds of Gulliver (2002) Unrated
Actors: Kerwin Mathews, Sherry Alberoni, Ray Harryhausen
Release Year: 2002

Review by: Mark D. - 4/20/2017 10:50 AM
"worst of all Harryhausen movies. when he made this movie...what was he thinking?"


Hook
Hook (2000) PG
Director: Steven Spielberg
Actors: Dustin Hoffman, Robin Williams, Julia Roberts
Release Year: 2000

Review by: Russ B. (Happyfeet) - 4/19/2017 5:31 PM
"Loved watching it again but enjoyed the commentary telling details of things I wasn't aware of, also."


A Turtle's Tale: Sammy's Adventures
A Turtle's Tale: Sammy's Adventures (0) NR
Actors: Melanie Griffith, Kathy Griffin, Tim Curry

Review by: Chrissy S. (naughtyspider) - 4/19/2017 7:36 AM
"Great Music, Cute story spanning decades. Filled with all the right mesages about conserving and respecting the environment and nature to a hot soundtrack!!! Fun for the whole family!"


The Tuxedo
The Tuxedo (2003) PG-13
Director: Kevin Donovan
Actors: Jackie Chan, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Jason Isaacs
Release Year: 2003

Review by: Tom K. (Tomk) - 4/18/2017 7:31 PM
"Pease be aware that this version is NOT Widescreen."


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Widescreen Edition)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Widescreen Edition) (2009) PG
Director: David Yates
Actors: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson
Release Year: 2009

Review by: Tara C. - 4/18/2017 6:58 AM
"absolutely a great addition to our collection."


Doc McStuffins: School Of Medicine
Doc McStuffins: School Of Medicine (2014)
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Lisa G. (plum-marie) - 4/17/2017 10:03 PM
"Episodes:

1. "Chilly gets chilly" & "Through the reading glasses"

2. "Disco dress-up Daisy" & "The Glider Brothers"

3. "Celestial Celeste" & "Run Doc, Run"

4. "Hallie's happy birthday" & "Shark style toothache"

5. "Think pink" & "You foose, you lose"

Doc is catchy and has fun songs, a lot less annoying than a lot of kids shows. Who hasn't pretended at some point their toys could talk, fun premise."


The Rolling Stones - Rock and Roll Circus
The Rolling Stones - Rock and Roll Circus (2004) NR
Director: Michael Lindsay-Hogg
Actors: Ian Anderson, Glenn Cornick, Clive Bunker
Release Year: 2004

Review by: SV S. - 4/16/2017 2:28 PM
"Like everyone says, see this for The Who. As a live band they were untouchable at this time in their career and this film proves it! They are absolutely on fire, functioning as a perfect communal organism rather than four individuals. Greater than the sum of their parts. Really breathtaking stuff, and a must-have for every Who fan.

The Rollings Stones aren't too shabby, though, especially on Sympathy For The Devil, where Mick gets into character and uses all his charm and sensuality to draw the viewer in. He's looking mighty fine here!

The rest of the show is less memorable for me, but not terrible. Some of the "interview" portions are rather entertaining, with John Lennon being his surreal self, and Lennon and Jagger flirting outrageously with each other. John is generally in a hilarious mood through the show, hamming it up in the audience and assisting Yoko with her trolling attempts via bag and screaming.

Marianne Faithfull is stunning here, an angelic moment amongst the rough-and-tumble of the lads.

A good watch all-around, but I usually skip directly to The Who and The Stones. Five stars for The Who's sheer brilliance."


The Who At Kilburn: 1977
The Who At Kilburn: 1977 (2008) NR
Director: The Who
Actors: Roger Daltrey, John Entwistle, Pete Townshend
Release Year: 2008

Review by: SV S. - 4/16/2017 2:06 PM
"I've only watched disc 1 so far, and I'll come back and update this review when I've watched disc 2.

This is about the worst Who gig I've ever watched. The band is a shambles, unable to make the music gel, and Townshend is in a truly foul mood as a result, clearly on his own trip and forcing the rest of the band to accommodate his playing rather than playing as part of the most amazing live act in the world.

Despite this, simply because of the sheer virtuosity of all the band members, this is still a good gig, and moments of real Who magic still happen. This gig, despite being awful for The Who, is still miles better than the best gigs by many lesser bands!

It is an interesting document to watch and compare with other footage of the group, and Townshend's anger comes out as wild leaping and windmilling across the stage, plus a near-punch-up with a stage hand, which is really something to see.

Not a great introduction to the band for a new fan, but well worth a watch for someone who's seen them many times before. Three stars."


Ozzy Osbourne - Don't Blame Me
Ozzy Osbourne - Don't Blame Me (2000) NR
Actor: Ozzy Osbourne
Release Year: 2000

Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012) - 4/13/2017 3:50 AM
"This was actually pretty entertaining for Ozzy fans and it has a couple full videos and Ozzy gives details about the infamous bat, etc. Definitely worth a watch."


Beautiful Hunter
Beautiful Hunter (2005) Unrated
Director: Masaru Konuma
Actors: Makiko Kuno, Johnny Okura, Katsuo Tokashi
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Jason K. (jasecw) - 4/12/2017 10:45 PM
"4 Stars great plot twist at the end recommended for fans of the Zero Woman Series"


In Living Color - Season 1
In Living Color - Season 1 (2004) NR
Directors: Keenen Ivory Wayans, Matt Wickline, Paul Miller
Actors: Keenen Ivory Wayans, Jim Carrey, Kelly Coffield Park
Release Year: 2004

Review by: Ricardo G. - 4/10/2017 10:10 PM
"A nice review of something that was the rage some 20 years ago! Jim Carrey had a great moment playing Captain Kirk in a Star Trek skit. Several others like Homey the Clown and ones I even forgot all about. It will entertain you and make you laugh as this show was ahead of its time."


FDR - A Presidency Revealed (History Channel)
FDR - A Presidency Revealed (History Channel) (2005) NR
Actor: Franklin Delano Roosevelt
Release Year: 2005

Review by: Jack P. - 4/10/2017 12:31 AM
"This was a new, shrink wrapped, copy."


I Frankenstein
I Frankenstein (2014)
Release Year: 2014

Review by: Katrina C. (katmarie) - 4/9/2017 9:47 AM
"I thought it was a really fun movie. I had not read the graphic novel so I just took the story as it came and found the demon and gargoyle aspects entertaining. Great special effects, and I love Eckhart in everything he does so that was a plus."


SPANGLISH
SPANGLISH (0)

Review by: Vickie B. (Ktai) - 4/8/2017 9:30 PM
"3 Stars. Have seen this before, but enjoy being able to watch again when in the mood. I'm keeping this for now. Glad I was able to get it so easily."


Welcome to the Grindhouse: The Hellcats/Chain Gang Women
Welcome to the Grindhouse: The Hellcats/Chain Gang Women (2007) R
Directors: Robert F. Slatzer, Lee Frost
Actors: Ross Hagen, Dee Duffy, Sharyn Kinzie
Release Year: 2007

Review by: Kent J. (kentj) - 4/8/2017 2:15 PM
"The names of these movies and descriptions are misleading. Hellcats as far as I got into it with a scratched copy of the DVD does have bikers and a few women but doses not appear to be about women bikers. Chain Gang Women is not a women in prison movie. I do think that the songs fit the situation better than those in most movies."