Search - Pierre Monteux/ Boston Symphony Orchestra on DVD

Pierre Monteux/ Boston Symphony Orchestra
Pierre Monteux/ Boston Symphony Orchestra
Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Musicals & Performing Arts
NR     2005     1hr 20min

VAI DVD 4316 Brahms: Tragic Overture, Hindemith: Noblissima Visiones, Stravinsky: Petrouchka (complete). 1959 concert. 82 min., B&W


Larger Image

Movie Details

Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Musicals & Performing Arts
Sub-Genres: Music Video & Concerts, Classical
Studio: Video Artists Int'l
Format: DVD - Black and White
DVD Release Date: 04/26/2005
Original Release Date: 01/01/1959
Theatrical Release Date: 01/01/1959
Release Year: 2005
Run Time: 1hr 20min
Screens: Black and White
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaDVD Credits: 1
Total Copies: 0
Members Wishing: 0
Edition: Classical
MPAA Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Languages: English

Similar Movies


Movie Reviews

Monteux conducts Hindemith
J. Tyrrell | Birmingham UK | 08/18/2007
(5 out of 5 stars)

"I happened to hear a broadcast of the Boston Symphony Orchestra many years back. It was of Monteux conducting Noblissima Visione. I remember the irresisitable rhythmic drive and beauty of this score. When I saw, many years later, a performance was available on DVD I went straight for it. Often there is disappointment on revisiting old haunts when it is impossible to capture the magic remembered from before. This time I experienced once again the skill of this remarkable musician who I had the fortune to see in London. The programme is completed by more familiar fare for Monteux including Petrushka and Brahms. No disappointments here either. I have given the rating because of the performance. I won't claim it state of the art in sound or vision, but the opportunity to see as well as Monteux is a historic document. Don't expect histrionics though, Monteux is cool and impassive. Noblissima Visione is not often heard, but the inner movements contain an irresistable urge combined with a beauty that sums up the character of St Francis the focus of this piece.Pierre Monteux/ Boston Symphony Orchestra