Search - The Tchaikovsky Cycle, Vol. 4 [DVD Video] on DVD

The Tchaikovsky Cycle, Vol. 4 [DVD Video]
The Tchaikovsky Cycle Vol 4
DVD Video
Genres: Indie & Art House, Music Video & Concerts, Musicals & Performing Arts
NR     2007     1hr 43min


Larger Image

Movie Details

Genres: Indie & Art House, Music Video & Concerts, Musicals & Performing Arts
Sub-Genres: Indie & Art House, DTS, Classical
Studio: Arthaus Musik
Format: DVD - Color,Widescreen
DVD Release Date: 10/30/2007
Original Release Date: 01/01/1991
Theatrical Release Date: 01/01/1991
Release Year: 2007
Run Time: 1hr 43min
Screens: Color,Widescreen
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaDVD Credits: 1
Total Copies: 0
Members Wishing: 0
Edition: Classical
MPAA Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Languages: English

Similar Movies

The Tchaikovsky Cycle Vol 2
DVD Video
   UR   2007   1hr 30min
The Tchaikovsky Cycle Vol 3
DVD Video
   NR   2007   1hr 55min
The Tchaikovsky Cycle
DVD Video
   NR   2007   1hr 33min
The Tchaikovsky Cycle Vol 5
DVD Video
   NR   2007   1hr 44min

Movie Reviews

The Best!
Janos Gardonyi | Toronto, Ontario Canada | 06/20/2009
(5 out of 5 stars)

"I am simply amazed at the lack of interest in this series of broadcasts of Tchaikovsky's complete orchestral works, beautifully photographed with demonstration quality sound. Fedoseyev is probably not well known in the West, but let me assure you he is one of the greatest interpreter of Russian music who superbly controls his excellent Orchestra with masculine force and great sensitivity. He was a student of the late, magnificent Yevgeny Mravinsky.
The tremendous 4th will give you shivers and stir your emotions. Tretyakov is masterful in the Violin concerto, masculine, powerful and yet refined to the nth degree. He reminds me of David Oistrakh or Yasha Heifetz in their prime.
The 1812 overture is a great showpiece but has been degraded by many hackneyed performances. Fedoseyev avoids all hystrionics, the overture is very effectively built up with the various episodes kept in perspective and the end it explodes in a magnificent, but thoroughly musical climax.
Probably any of the items in this series is worth your money, I already heard from experts that the 6th is also awesome.
I can't recommend it highly enough."
1812 Overture
Luiz Carlos Macieira | Rio de Janeiro - Brazil | 02/25/2008
(5 out of 5 stars)

"First of all the opportunity to see and listen the Moscow Radio Symphony Orhestra, with a vibrant performance of the conductor and musicians.
Second to appreciciate the most Tchaikovsky popular composition."